We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully friendly and awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel and staff at the Chocolate Lake are both wonderful friendly and welcoming. Our group arrived close to midnight after traveling for over 12 hours. Heidi greeted us with a smile and refreshments! We were travel-worn but appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the comfortable rooms. Breakfast was awesome and from my perspective, best taken on the deck overlooking the lake. Upon departing,Cocoa the hotel's mascot and staff saw us off with our choice of fruit! While we were a group of 39, and groups are treated a little differently than families or singles, everyone we met staying at the hotel expressed their pleasure with the hotel and its staff. Thank you Chocolate Lake for a wonderful visit! You're awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

The view is beautiful (if you are on the lake side) and the hotel was very clean and rooms were spacious. The breakfast was ultimately the most redeeming quality of our hotel stay, with an expansive selection of hot and cold foods and drinks! Definitely a good value!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSartorialTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We weren't sure that a Best Western could be such a well done, attractive hotel in a great location with sizeable rooms, etc. But it was! Got it on Priceline during Tall Ships Weekend in Halifax and were extremely happy. Just 3 miles from downtown Halifax. Nice buffet breakfast included. Super staff....the Chocolate (?) Lake is beautiful with hotel access and surrounded by trees and homes otherwise. Very nice pool and hot tub in hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

everyone was nice, rooms and lobby were clean. beds were comfortable. great location - short drive to downtown halifax. free breakfast - looked good but we did not eat

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very friendly helpful staff. No complaints at all. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Hotel has a beautiful picturesque lake behind it. We ate breakfast on the deck overlooking the lake. It was wonderful, very relaxing, We only stayed 2 nights. Would like to have stayed longer! The location is close enough to downtown attractions, I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravenmona52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, great location on chocolate lake, had lake view room - wonderful, only a short drive to downtown Halifax, easy to find when coming from the airport. Quiet location. Extra attraction for kids: the lovely hotel dog Cocoa! Restaurant is very good, too. Staff and food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T4Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located on Lake Chocolate. This is a reasonable place to say while in the Halifax area. It's located a little farther than most hotels in the area. There is a convience store right next door that stays open until aroun 1AM. Rooms were okay but the place is starting to run down a little bit. I had stayed here a couple of years ago. Beds were uncomfortable. We just stayed for 2 nights then decided to leave early. Pool and spa were ok but the basement could use some improvements. Breakfast was great 1 morning then poor the next. Overall a good place to stay for a couple of days if touring the area. We stayed here just to sleep while visiting museums in the area along with Peggy's Cove. There is a beach right by the hotel where you can swim back and forth accross the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
333 reviews
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
258 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $102 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing