We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
48
13
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
13
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomhome away from hometwin bedssmall balconyplace to stayb b'sspent three nightsenjoyed our stayjoanstoriesdowntowncerealharbour
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 65 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here only one night as a break up place, before heading to Cape Breton. Joan, the host, is very nice and welcoming. Her house is conveniently located in a residential area, closed to downtown Halifax. We did not have time to explore much of Halifax but got a brief visit to the harbor with a good dinner at the Old Triangle, as suggested by Joan. The breakfast was very good and big. We could skip our lunch and drove all the way to Mabou, Cape Breton, which was our next stop. Joan is very knowledgeable about the history of Halifax and provided us with many good stories.
I definitely will go back again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passenger810645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed here for 6 days during a trip to Halifax and it was the best experience! Innkeeper Joan is a charming, wonderful hostess, a local artist and a terrific cook. If you are there during the spring, summer, or early fall, the garden is beautiful. This is Joan's family home and it is cozy and comfortable, featuring hand made quilts, blankets, and floormats. Joan is a terrific story teller and knows a great deal about both Halifax and the world beyond. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Enchanting and relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We loved this B&B! We stayed here at the beginning and end of our tour around Nova Scotia - as we travelled off to Cape Breton and PEI.

In comparison to the expensive, ubiquitous, and generic hotels available downtown, this was such a lovely place to stay! We were slightly on a budget - and so at $75 a night between us this was perfect. It's so homely, and comfortable. Joan, the host is really lovely, easy-going and friendly; helping us out with our travel plans, how to get around the city, ordering our airport taxi cab for us, letting us use the phone, and preparing our amazing breakfasts.

It is either a short walk downtown, or the bus goes just from the end of the street all the time. Staying in suburbs like these is a lot more attractive and interesting than downtown, and we felt we got to know life in Halifax a lot better as a result. It is also well placed to hire a car and travel off to other parts of Nova Scotia - Lunenburg and Mahone Bay were lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Power_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We found the marigold on trip advisor and fell in love with this delightful b&b and have stayed here twice. If you're going to Halifax it is much much more worth your while not staying in an expensive chain hotel downtown and rather stay somewhere like the marigold which is easy ten min walking distance to downtown and yet you stay in a picturesque nova scotian suburb with the multicoloured clapboard houses. The host Joan goes out of her way to help you with any of your needs, for instance she kindly did washing for me and has no fixed time for the fabulous breakfast, just let her know roughly what time you get up. I really recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank uratargetmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I have twice stayed at the Marigold B&B in Halifax, and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The B&B is on a peaceful street on the peninsula, within walking distance of all city sights and attractions.

Joan, the hostess, is extremely kind and considerate, and goes to great lengths to ensure the comfort of her guests. A native Haligonian, she always has excellent suggestions for restaurants, shops, local sightseeing, and daytrips.

For me, the Marigold was a real home away from home. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amfcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews