We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever”

Marigold Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigold Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived late a night from Australia after 25 hours in planes and airports. Joan immediately made us feel welcome with cups of tea and a good sit down chat. As others have said, Joan is a remarkable person; she is full of humour, warmth and the milk of human kindness. She relates well to all sorts of different people and has the happy knack of making everyone feel at home. We had beautiful sleeps and lovely dreams followed by a hearty breakfast to send us on our way each day to explore Halifax.
A good B&B has comfortable, clean facilities, lovely food and a relaxing atmosphere.
Marigold also has an exceptional host.
We couldn't imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've stayed at Joan's Marigold B& B twice and am here to tell you that it is unique among all the B & B's I have ever visited in Canada because of its owner, Joan, a talented painter, baker and doll maker who grew up on the site and who is also a wealth of information and help on so, so many topics. For the visitor new to Nova Scotia and/or Halifax Regional Municipality, she can fill you in on any tourism event; place to visit; restaurant; et al under the sun of the local scene. She is extremely well read and full of personal stories about Halifax heritage, history, art, craft, literature, folks and lore. If she doesn't know something herself, she'll lead you to where you can find out. She makes the most divine homemade cakes, soups and desserts and has helped many a newcomer to the area relocate. No matter what your status upon arrival--homeless; a new student looking for lodging; a couple on a romantic getaway; a busy business person or academic; a single who doesn't know anyone in town, Joan will serve in a variety of capacities to make you feel like you are, indeed, in a home away from home. From her dreamy, whimsical painting to her linoleum mats; from her lemon custard birthday cake to her three cozy cats; from her Irish woollen throws to her good cup of tea; from her vast array of films to her heartfelt empathy, Joan offers the wayfaring stranger a cozy home to curl up in and bide awhile; a comfortable room with personal touches throughout. A visit to Marigold is just like the name--merry and golden...and all from the heart.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelanieWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great stay at this B&B. it was clean and comfortable and the owner Joan was very personable. We learnt a lot about the local history over breakfast (which was simple but delicious- fruit with bacon and eggs- scrambled eggs especially good).
Location was also good, the B&B is on a quiet street a couple of blocks from Quinpool rd, where there are some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Though the owner is very knowledgeable and helpful, the place is a bit run-down. It needs sprucing up. Fine for a college student. Breakfast was good. Hostess gave great info about the history of the area, and she is a talented artist. Her work graces the house.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you are looking for a victorian vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angierobrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Joan is a best person to have B&B! She is helpful and considerate. She arranged my breakfast for take-out style and gave me a raincoat because it was heavy rainny day. My English is not so good but she always tries to understand me and it makes me confortable. She made my trip special. I'd like to recommend this place to you all.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank kotorip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Joan is a great host.. Lots of helpful information for us as first time visitors.. Her home is comfortable and breakfasts were great. We had a great time getting to know Joan and would recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmkcj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are looking for a low price, conveniently located B&B near Kings and Dal then this is a great choice. If you do not want to share a bathroom, have to speak to people at breakfast or can't live without a TV then stay somewhere else
Our room with a double bed was small but had a lovely deck attached. Breakfast was yummy and super filling
Joan is a wonderful host. We enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available - a small room with double bed and deck or a larger room with 2 twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieSquamish_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,012 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigold Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6318 Norwood St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Marigold Bed & Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing