We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$156
$136
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
$189
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prince George Hotel(Halifax)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$175
$144
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$159
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
48
12
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomhome away from hometwin bedssmall balconyspent three nightsyogurtjoanstories
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 64 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Joan is a best person to have B&B! She is helpful and considerate. She arranged my breakfast for take-out style and gave me a raincoat because it was heavy rainny day. My English is not so good but she always tries to understand me and it makes me confortable. She made my trip special. I'd like to recommend this place to you all.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank kotorip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Joan is a great host.. Lots of helpful information for us as first time visitors.. Her home is comfortable and breakfasts were great. We had a great time getting to know Joan and would recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmkcj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are looking for a low price, conveniently located B&B near Kings and Dal then this is a great choice. If you do not want to share a bathroom, have to speak to people at breakfast or can't live without a TV then stay somewhere else
Our room with a double bed was small but had a lovely deck attached. Breakfast was yummy and super filling
Joan is a wonderful host. We enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available - a small room with double bed and deck or a larger room with 2 twin beds
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieSquamish_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dear gentle reader: if you are seeking a warm, inviting and caring place to stay while in Halifax, look no further than Joan's place (Marigold Bed and Breakfast) on Norwood street. Her place is located near Quinpool and Oxford, an easy 15 minute walk to downtown Halifax. Quinpool has pretty much everything you need and the neighbourhood is very quiet, well treed and beautifully landscaped.

Joan is very kind and helpful to your needs and wishes and will do her very best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms (two of them) are basic but clean and attractively decorated. The shared bathroom off the hall has everything you need. My favourite room is #2 because of the wonderful balcony off the side of the room. Perfect for sitting outside in privacy during the warmer season.

Joan's breakfasts are memorable and are freshly prepared every day. My last night's stay was a short one due to an early flight leaving Halifax. Joan very kindly packed me a generous lunch to take on the flight home in lieu of a breakfast. You'll find her a personable and kind-hearted soul with amazing talent for creating beautiful paintings. I have one back home here in Vancouver to remind me of her talent and her warmth and kindness.

Room Tip: Room #2 has a lovely balcony, but is west facing and can be a tad warm.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SqkrTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I can think of few B&Bs where I have received such great value as Marigold. Its location was great with close proximity to downtown, but within a couple of blocks of a great dining area -- Quinpool Street. While the rooms lacked air conditioning and a private bathroom, the price more than made up for that. There are only two rooms, so the shared bathroom was not a big deal. The only thing I thought was missing was a common room for relaxing like I have seen in so many other B&Bs. There is a common room for breakfast, but that didn't have the same appeal as something like a reading room.

Breakfasts were good and hardy with little need for anything other than snacking until dinner.

Joan is a fabulous host and she really seems to enjoy people and her business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews