We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed one night in Halifax and were very happy with our hotel selection. The hotel is new and the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel location is good although a bit of a walk to the waterfront. A helpful hint for other travelers, move your car to an area outside of the parking garage before checking out as your room key is needed to get access to the parking garage.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are currently sourcing two drop boxes for guest keys once the gain re-entry to the parkade so that you are not inconvenienced by having to return your keys. One of the boxes will be in the stairwell and the other in the elevator landing of the parkade. They should be in place shortly!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 991 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

I had to attend a training in Halifax and I chose to stay at the brand new Hampton Inn downtown. Where do I start? It's located a few steps away from the boardwalk, the staff is extremely friendly and efficient, the hotel is really beautiful and very clean, and room was perfect. The art everywhere is quite nice and showcases Halifax.

I was able to work easily and comfortably for a few hours in my room because it has a nice desk, a good chair and lots of natural light coming in. Free WIFI, lots of plugs and a nice radio for background music, I was pretty productive!

There a small shopping center about a block away. There's a pharmacy, a Starbucks, a food court and a couple of stores. There are a lot of restaurants in the area too.

I was quite shocked by the taxi fare from the airport to the hotel (63$!) but my colleague took the bus for 3.50$. The front desk booked me a limo service for 59$ to go back to the airport. The bus was no longer running that late in the day so check the schedules if you want to use it.

Note for the ladies: that area of the city has a lot of hills, so walking around with heels is not an option...also bring a light jacket or sweater if you are out past dinner time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JOANNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Another great review, filled with great information and advice! Thank you for taking the time to post this on trip advisor for all future guests and for highlighting our rooms so perfectly!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Colin gave me a much-needed late check-out. I could not recommend this hotel more. It is near everything and is a great place to stay. There is no better place to stay in Nova Scotia. Everything you need us within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runner8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Wow, thank you so much for this review! I am so thrilled to be responding to such happy guests every day. You make my job so easy :)

Stay well, see you next time!

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Excellent place to stay if you are visiting Halifax. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent hot breakfast. Close distance to many attractions. It will be great if the room service option is available, especially when you travel with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We also hope that once a restaurant is in place on the bottom floor of the apartment building next door, room service will be an option for all of our guests!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The staffs of Hampton by Hilton Halifax, especially Amelia, Marie-France, and Clinton have superb customer-service qualities that made us feel very special and I am sure, all other guests too as when one night I came down to the front desk to ask for help, a group of family came in and the Mother was most overwhelmed with happiness and hug Amelia (staff) when Amelia gave her lost sunglasses. A scene that gives joy to one's heart. It also makes you feel more at home and comfortable. It was my first time in their hotel and if there's a chance to come back, I would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marites S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for posting just a small example of what our team does every single day! It did my heart well to read this review. Thank you for capturing the emotion of the story for all to read.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This property is relatively new, well located and makes a very nice presentation. Nice artwork in rooms and common areas. Ask for a room with a view of the water and/or bridge. The complimentary breakfast is standard for Hampton Inns featuring cold and hot buffet items. Much of the downtown area including the wharf and Citadel are within an easy walk. Parking is an additional charge in the adjacent parking facility with come & go privileges. Check-in was a little hectic with only one staff member and several guests. When we walked by on our way out, there were three staff members and no guests waiting.

Room Tip: We had a partial view on an upper floor and were quite happy. Our bathroom was shower only and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

What a great title for a review! Thank you for all of your kind words. Just wanted to let everyone know that we do have rooms with bathtub/shower combo's as well as ones with just walk in showers.

Thanks and have a great day!

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week August 2014, and we very much enjoyed our stay. It is a few blocks from the waterfront, but a pleasant walk for sure. It is a relatively new hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Continental breakfast serving bagels, eggs, fruit, waffles and such is included. One thing we do miss is a restaurant on the premises, even though it is close to restaurants, sometimes you just need something convenient and close by. Other than that we don't have any negative comments. I'm only rating it a 3 star due to the fact that it didn't have a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 9th floor and faced the cop station behind it. We didn't experience any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gmbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor! I am so glad that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. While I don't have an exact date, the plan is to have a restaurant next door to us on the bottom floor of the apartment complex and eventually one acroos the street as well. I know it is something that will be widely popular and very convenient for our guests when all is said and done! Don't worry.....we are on it!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,015 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown

Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $110 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hampton Inn Halifax offers a great location within walking distance of all the downtown excitement. Spacious guest rooms offer free WiFi and more modern amenities for a comfortable stay. Stay on a higher floor for great views of Citadel Hill or Halifax Harbour. Free hot breakfast is available each morning. Silverbirch Conference Center is connected to offer flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing