We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a great stay there with our 2 dogs and three children. The dogs were welcomed with some quality treats. The kids loved the breakfast. Awesome staff, clean, bright rooms in the heart of Halifax. This will be my new fav, when in Halifax.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are indeed pet friendly and welcome all members of the family! We look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax and Homewood Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 817 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was told this hotel opened about 9 months ago, so it hasn't had many reviews yet. It is a little hard to locate, as it is behind the Hampton Inn which is also fairly new. But it is a great find. Our 1 bedroom suite was clean and attractive. The kitchen was very well equipped with nice appliances, dishes and cooking utensils. The living area is comfortable and with 2 TVs everyone can be happy. There was a vanity area with good lighting outside of the bathroom, as well as a basin in the bathroom, so 2 can easily get ready at the same time. Comfortable beds and good A/C. Free breakfast was good but not great. The staff had trouble keeping up with the demand, but responded quickly when we made a request. There were two exceptionally nice things about this hotel. First they serve a free dinner each evening and you are presented with a monthly menu when you check in. Secondly, people use the dining/living area to play cards, watch TV, generally using it as a gathering place. There is a $19 charge to park your car and the garage is across the parking lot, which could be inconvenient in bad weather. But I was definitely pleased with this hotel and felt the price was more than fair. Pleasant people at the reception desk made the coming and going enjoyable. Definitely a great choice here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive review and feeback. I have passed your comments regarding breakfast on to our food & beverage team. You're right, our Lodge is a great area to relax and unwind after a busy day! Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am a consultant and stayed several hotels at the same location before staying at the Homewood Suites. I enjoyed the excellent service, friendly staff and excellent location. I will recommend any one who would be visiting Halifax to stay and enjoy the best service with reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
2  Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thabnk you for the great review, and particularly for recognizing our staff. They truly are guest focused, and set us apart! We look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax and Homewood Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Free dinner with check-in was a pleasant surprise along with breakfast in the morning. Hotel was beautifully kept and staff were very friendly. Easy access to the Halifax Metro Centre in downtown Halifax.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
2  Thank Trapper246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for the great review! Dinner Monday to Thursday is a Homewood Brand Standard and can be enjoyed at all Homewood Suites!
We look forward to we,lcoming you back to Halifax and Homewood Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is only a few months old, and it shows. Everything is spotless. I would not be surprised if we were the first in our room. We were upgraded to a room with a nice view of the water, although the hotel is located a few blocks from the ocean, so no views are unobstructed.
The breakfast buffet was good, but not always great. Of the two mornings we ate there, the eggs were excellent once, and a bit dry once. The selection is perfectly adequate, with toast, pastries, cereal, eggs, meat (bacon or sausage), excellent coffee (Folgers 100% Columbian).
Parking is $19.95 a night plus tax, which is, I'm told, average for Halifax.
The citadel, a great tourist park, is visible from the south side of the hotel, and is within very easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed on your comments regarding breakfast, specifically requesting we ensure consistency in our eggs on a daily basis. Our parking rates are indeed similar to all downtown Halifax hotels. We're very proud of our new hotel, and welcome you back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location,staff and suites. Staff went out of there way to please us. The room we're very comfortable and quiet.I would definatly return to this hotel which by the way is brand new. You are close to restaurants and just minutes away from the water. The harbour hopper tour and brewery tour was good entertainment.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Boss804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for ypour positive comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Specifically, it's great to hear that our staff "went out of their way to please". Service is definitely a focus of ours, and it's gratifying to hear that it's working!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I just checked out of the Homewood Suites Hotel located in Halifax. Yes the hotel is brand new and looks fantastic. This is an ideal hotel for a single business traveller. Not suited for a couple or family if you require bathroom privacy. The bathroom sink is located in a open space area just in front of the door for the the toilet and shower. If you use the sink you will wake up the other people in your room. We were moved to another room that that had a full bathroom with a sink. This was wheel chair room. Turns out when you take a shower the bathroom floor gets really wet. Ooen shower.Need to use lots of towels so the next person can shower. The other issue with this room was the ventilation. The air duct was located right over your head in the ceiling. Cold air blowing directly down on you. We closed the vents then had a lack of air flow. Since we stayed for five nights we went out a bought a fan for air circulaion. Our first room with the sink issue had potatoe chips under the sofa cushion. Also be prepared when you sit on the sofa. Extremely hard, like sitting on a concrete park bench. The free breakfast was a real hit and miss for our five day stay. Most mornings the hot food was cold plus most items were gone and you had to ask for additional food to be brought out. The staff were pleasant and really tried to make your stay comfortable..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tom101677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. Our room design which features sink area outside of the shower area is actually a Homewood standard design. I will be passing your comments on to Hilton for consideration in future design updates. I have asked our Chief Engineer to look at a deflector for the ventilation system in the room in which you stayed to channel the air away from the sleeping area. Our Housekeeping team have also been made aware of the cleanliness issues you experienced. Our breakfast has been very popular, I was very disappointed to hear temperature was not consistent each morning of your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the helpfulness of our staff.
It is with feedback like yours that we are able to address issues that may arise in our operation. I appreciate you taking the time to itemize them for us.
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada

Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $134 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton is a welcoming, extended stay option in downtown Halifax. Spacious studio, 1- and 2-bedroom suites offer complimentary WiFi, full kitchens and separate living and sleeping space. Guests enjoy complimentary breakfast daily, indoor pool and fitness center. The attached Silverbirch Conference Center also offers flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing