We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveler rating
405
226
37
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
226
37
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard marriottvalet parkingrooftop terracezen gardentypical courtyardgreat locationbrewery marketwithin walking distancekeith's brewerystarbucks coffeetop floorhalifax downtownfront desk staffmaritime museumstaying at this hotelview of the waterharbour view
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 691 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed at this Courtyard twice within a week. Both stays were excellent. The hotel is located a little over a block from the Maritime Museum, catty-corner from the Hopper (Halifax's motorized duck boat), next to the Alexander Keith Brewery, and in the middle of the waterside entertainment district. We walked everywhere, with the exception of the Citadel, which was uphill about 7 blocks, and worthy of a short cab ride). The hotel boasts a very fine patio on its 8th floor overlooking the harbor and a good pool with a smallish hot tub. Everything is new and in great shape.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view or a partial harbor view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Courtyard was ideal for our family visit to Halifax's historical sites. Not once did we take the bus or a cab, as all destinations were within easy walking distance. Hotel staff were great and features were optimal.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

My wife and I used a reward certificate for a one-night stay, booking the reservation nine days prior to our visit. Afterwards we realized that the 30th Annual Halifax Pride Parade was scheduled for that same day, so we were quite surprised a room was available at all!
We were driving in from outside of the city, and the hotel's location meant that we had to either circle around the outside of the city to avoid the parade (many downtown streets were closed beginning at noon) or arrive extra early. We used the Marriott app and checked in online the night before, requesting an early check-in. We received a reply almost immediately that they would do their best to accommodate us.
We took a chance and left early, arriving at the hotel at 11:00AM. We were greeted by smiling and friendly staff who happily informed us that our room was ready! WOW! The room we had was 718; a very spacious room with a gorgeous view of Halifax Harbour! The room was well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. We had asked for a couple of wine glasses, a plate, and some silverware for the room (we had some snacks with us) and these were promptly delivered by a very pleasant lady with a lovely smile.
Following our evening activities downtown, we returned to the hotel and paid a visit to the 8th floor terrace. What a fabulous spot! Lots of plush, comfortable chairs and a commanding view of Halifax and the harbour. You can even order – and then enjoy - room service from there!
For breakfast the next morning we ate at the Bistro. This is our second experience dining at a Marriott Bistro (the first was in Kingston, Ontario) and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Great selection, Starbucks coffee, and fast service.
We had taken advantage of the valet parking so, after our easy and pleasant check-out, we asked for the car to be brought around. We were quite surprised to find a bottle of water in the car that was NOT ours… until we saw the label: “Courtyard Marriott - To help you stay refreshed on your journey”. Thanks Marriott! We will be back, and we’ve already started telling our friends!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the harbour. The view is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DandH_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This is a really nice Marriott in a super location, steps away from the wharf, and it also seems to be near or at least in walking distance of just about everything we want to do in Halifax. Our room is small but nice with a small pullout couch and a refrigerator in the room. The lobby is very comfortable, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We arrived last night and walked down to Chives for dinner (see review) and this am we had breakfast at Coffee Cabin which is right around the corner and features wonderful house-made baked goods, good local bagels, and delicious breakfast sandwiches. We also did the two hour city bike tour with I Heart Bikes which is steps away from the hotel and I would recommend. After, we caught a free Sunday afternoon concert in the public gardens which are really beautiful and should be visited. Oh, and I have to mention the rooftop terrace with a stunning view of the harbor (see photo). It's open to hotel guests and you can order drinks and food from the cafe in the lobby--we brought our own glass of wine. Great place to stay while exploring Halifax!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank egslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Spent 5 notes at this hotel and found the accommodations very good. Staff was most helpful and courteous. Location was great as it was close to both waterfront and several pubs and eating establishments. Would definitely recommend to others!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room facing the water if available.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1970GRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews