We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property overlooking the harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
531 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice property overlooking the harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Courtyard Downtown Halifax is in a perfect location for eats, drinks and sightseeing. Rooms were comfortable, but extremely quite. No fans and sounding AC or heat if that matters to you. Public computer was really, really slow. We had the breakfast buffet and while it tasted good, it was really over priced. Front desk staff was oblivious to most situations. Roof top area provided excellent views of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    190
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
126
213
38
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
679 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place close to everything. Nice staff and beautiful rooms. We are Marriott Platinum members and they put us in the penthouse suite with a great view. Our room hat the rotunda in the living room. So, when we turned on the light switch, it lit up all the windows and was visible from most of the downtown. Cool!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel in past but was really impressed with customer service. Had an issue with hotel over a year ago and when I mentioned it they bent over backwards to make things right. The 8th floor deck is excellent and great place to have a morning coffee or read a book. Location of hotel is excellent great restaurants with 2-3 minute walk along waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dintylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've stayed here several times in the past year and have found it consistently good. The location is convenient to the waterfront attractions,pubs and dining as well as the Spring Garden Rd shopping district.The staff are friendly and eager to help. The 24 hr coffee in the lobby is a nice touch as is the little "pantry" area where you can buy snacks,drinks etc.

The rooms are a good size and the harbourfront units have a great view. I've found the pricing to offer good value compared to other,similar hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Check for frequent specials that include valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

LOCATION is very convenient, just across the street from the waterfront and a short walk to most places of interest in downtown Halifax.

ROOMS are ok in size, well appointed and clean.

FRONT DESK is friendly, quick and helpful.

OTHER the rooftop terrace is a nice place to enjoy the view and a drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, who provided us with as many toiletries as they had since our luggage was delayed. We thought we would rather be closer to Pier 21, but once we checked in and walked the town we realized that this area of downtown was a lot more fun. It was within walking distance of most everything. Our room was a great size and probably because we were cashing in points, we received a room with sliding doors and a mini deck. The bed was very comfy - got a great night's sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel as our first pick when staying in Halifax.

Room Tip: Great views of on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyZeeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the last night before flying home. The convenient waterfront location allowed us to leave the car at the hotel and walk to what we wanted to see. It is approximately a 15-minute walk to the public gardens or to the historic properties. The room was very clean and well appointed. The staff were very helpful with directions and in answering questions.

The only sour note of the the stay occurred during breakfast on our departure day. We opted for the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The experience started with grounds floating in our coffee. When we got to the buffet, almost all of the food was gone so that our choices were limited. We noted this to the server, but we did not see any more food brought out while we were eating. The server was invisible during our meal. There was no checking to see how things were going and we had to track her down to get coffee refills. We did note this to the manager while checking out and she graciously deducted the breakfast from our bill. We look at this as a restaurant problem, and does not affect the hotel review.

Parking here is valet only, but the rate is similar to the open lots across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBearNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing