We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

โ€œMediocre Courtyard with Great Valet Serviceโ€

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediocre Courtyard with Great Valet Service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location of this Courtyard is second to none, unfortunately that along with a great valet service are the only two major positives. The girls at the front desk don't seem to know the area very well and made a few meal suggestions that I deeply regret following. The room is nothing more than average and there is absolutely no perk to being a Marriott Elite member. Would I stay here again? Possibly, if the rate is more reasonable. $239.00/night is far too much for this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms give something beautiful to look at. Try to stay away from the wings, internet co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    193
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
126
221
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Earlier this week my wife and I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Courtyard Marriott in downtown Halifax. What a great location. The room was very comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. The staff at the front desk, bell desk, housekeeping, and at the restaurant were all friendly and very customer-oriented. Carol is one of the waitresses that works in the restaurant, she is the most uplifting professional waitress we've ever come across --- having experienced her exceptional service and positive disposition each breakfast, we met with Frank and Dave (hotel management, who were very friendly and welcoming) to let them know how impressed we were and that we'd be coming back to stay again as soon as we can.
I'm an executive responsible for customer management for a financial services organization, and have an eye for talent and high quality customer experiences. The Courtyard Marriott downtown Halifax surpassed our expectations and we highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondavis888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived with a pickup truck and a small trailer in town. Parking was unavailable. We had to park in a lot across the street that was a municipal lot and pay by credit card and hope for the best since we were using 2 spots.
However, hotel is lovely and we walked to the Citadel and along the waterfront which is right across the street and drove to Peggy's Cove from there which meant we had to drag our trailer along since we couldn't leave it unattended in the lot.
Absolutely amazing dinner next door at DaMaurizios!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After getting off the VIA train, we took a cab to the hotel, not to long of a cab ride. The service was good, room was good, hotel restaurant was good, great view, and close to the pier ! I would go back again if were ever back in Halifax again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainfanjacob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location minutes wallking distance from Harborfront Market where you must have the chowder and lobster roll lunch/brunch and walk around.

Front desk staff and restaurant staff were so kind and helpful.
Charming, cosy lobbyside dining area. Would be nice if they included breakfast.
Large quiet comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjude1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown Halifax for one night, for business on a weeknight (Tuesday).

Location: I picked this hotel mainly because a) it is ranked fairly high on tripadvisor b) it is a block from my meeting at the Sheraton (which has mixed reviews). The location is indeed unbeatable. It is right on the harbour where all the chic restaurants and touristy stores are, while also being close to the business centre. I actually felt bad that I did not have more time to just stroll around the harbour front. The area is pretty quiet at night though not completely deserted (It is close to DalU so there are always students around. On the night I was there a huge cruise ship was docked just a few blocks south so there were travellers wandering around all the time) and I would say it generally felt safe.

Hotel overall: With its prime location also comes the roof top terrace with its breathtaking view, though it was smaller and more primitive than I expected (with its views I would expect a trendy bar with a hot bartender right there!) The gym/pool were adequate. The common area in the hotel generally feels welcoming and pleasant, typical of a well-kept mid-level business hotel. The steak house was very good, thought pricy for a three-star hotel.

Room: I got room 521, which is one of the three rooms at the end of the hallway (three floors directly below the terrace) with a nice harbour view (slightly obstructed by trees). Aside from the view, everything about the room was just average and a little disappointing. It was spacious but oddly apportioned/aligned (I would situation the furniture very differently). It does not have a safe, and still has an old-school clunky tube-TV. It has a coffee maker but the housekeeper only left one bag of decaf coffee. The bathroom was basic. Overall, the room was adequate, but feels a little tired.

Given its prime location, with a little investment this hotel can be turned into a top notch accommodation. Got potential, but not quite there yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed two nights. The location is wonderful - close to the harbor - and pretty much within walking distance of anything you want to see and do. There are a couple of things that would be helpful. The only mirrors are inside the bathroom. It would be really nice if the full length mirror were moved to the outside of the bathroom door. Also, there was neither a soap dish nor a fan in the bathroom. There were no luggage racks in the room. We booked the room for 3 people, but had to call housekeeping to request sufficient towels, glasses, mugs, coffee.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which was very nice because there is a balcony with tables and chairs on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing