We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap way to see the harbor”

Halifax Harbour Ferry
Ranked #8 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap way to see the harbor”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The ferry from Halifax to Dartmouth is super cheap and a great way to see the city from the water without having to pay and arm and a leg for the tours. The ticket is good for 90 mins. so there is time to eat over in Dartmouth. We saw a few harbor seals, but no whales. Kids loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cub74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    265
    52
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“good view of halifax”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

make sure you have exact change. Good view of halifax when you leave from darmouth to Halifax.
it is a easy and cheap way to see the halifax from water

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SARA111toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun way to see the city”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I ride it every day for work- it is a great way to get back and forth between the two cities - some days you can see seals bobbing in the waves- and in August/Sept we sometimes spot a whale!

Great way to see the skyline of Halifax and relax in Dartmouth - downtown Dartmouth is being revitalized with lots of new shops on Portland st.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well organized trip”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The ferry is clean and quite efficient. Make sure you have correct change as they will not change for you. Ride up top and take a jacket. Do not go to Dartmouth on a Sunday. Town is closed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Memphisbelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Free! (Natal Day)”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were told that one of the favourite Halifax activities is to buy a Cow's icecream cone and take a quick ferry ride across the harbour to Dartmouth and back. We dropped by during Natal weekend and found out the ferries were free all day. What a lovely surprise. We took the chance and rode over. It was a short and pleasant ride. We didn't explore much but it was a nice way to see the harbour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank oli_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halifax Harbour Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Halifax Harbour Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing