We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great restored fishing village..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fisherman's Cove

Fisherman's Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.98*
and up
Eastern Shore Photo Tour
Ranked #29 of 137 things to do in Halifax
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fisherman's Cove is a quaint 200 year old fishing village. It offers visitors a peek into the past while providing a variety of modern day activities for the whole family. It has the sounds of the ocean, seagulls, and sand pipers. Stroll the boardwalk and relax in the sand at MacCormack's Beach. Catch a glimpse of the osprey and herons as they enjoy fishing off the beach. Watch fishing boats come home with their catch and sail boats drift by as they enter the Halifax Harbour through the eastern passage.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great restored fishing village..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Before coming to Halifax, you hear wonders about its fishing and seafood culture. I must admit that I was disappointed until I came across this little gem of a place. It takes a long ride to get here but it's definitely worth it.
This cove has a row of houses and shops on the shores of a little bay, with boats "parked" in front of each building.
Restaurants and food shops here serve REEL fresh seafood that satisfied my hunger for the harvest of the sea after many months spent far from the shores.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ab_adnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    21
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I really enjoyed the trip to Fisherman's Cove. The boats that were docked provided some wonderful pictures of the area. We did have lunch there and will review that soon. I'd love to go there again to look around more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A pleasant place, but a mixed bag of feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I enjoyed my visit and I have been three times. The shops are interesting and the food is good, depending on where and what you eat. The scenery is spectacular, with ships moored to the wharves, the small water straight separating you from the islands in the middle of the harbour.

But it always seems that it could be so much more. It is out of the way, so perhaps not as visited as it could be, and this may lead to the lack of possibilities available.

Still this is definitely worth the trip and a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
299 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This small fishing village is very pretty with brightly-coloured buildings containing shops offering local goods such as jams, preserves, artwork, jewellery and some run-of-the-mill souvenirs. When we were there, it was a rainy day so there were very few people there. If you're planning on lunch at the Boondocks (which is right on the water), you only need maybe a total of 2 hours in this town. It's not far from downtown Halifax so it's a nice way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just a row of shacks selling overpriced homemade stuff. Ok, if you like to spend large amounts of money on that sort of thing. We ate at the little grey barn called "What's the Scoop" We had the 2 piece fish and chips for $10. It was enough for two people. But immediately after eating, and the rest of the day, I felt sick to my stomach. The food was VERY greasy, and overcooked. I think they used old cooking oil. You can't go wrong with the ice cream. It's Scotsman.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Cove also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing