We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful stone and architecture”

St. Mary's Basilica
Ranked #18 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone and architecture”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm normally not a big fan of churches and basilicas, but St. Mary's is certainly worth the stop. You can hop off the pink buss and have a tour around on your way to the library just up the road or any one of the shops. The craftsmanship is wonderful inside, but I was left wondering about some of the history for we secular types.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    53
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arisen”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to there while visiting Halifax. Its a norman gothic and granite made church located in the centre of the city. Worth a visit on your way to spring garden's shoppings area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you enjoy visiting churches, you must see St Mary’s. The granite steeple is one of the tallest in the world. The church has beautiful stained glass windows. It is a catholic church, which offers services every day.


Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nwaynesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
229 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a beautiful church and as a Catholic, I feel so blessed to have visited and worshipped in this church. The carvings on top of its doors outside says it all about the Catholic Faith: One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism. The church is not as grand as other churches I've been to before but it's simplicity touched my heart.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite lovely”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As the sign says, the place is open to all for prayer and contemplation. Very pretty spot and in the center of the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Siulaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary's Basilica also viewed

 

Been to St. Mary's Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing