We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for younger kids ONLY”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Centre

Discovery Centre
Ranked #17 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is now open in its brand new state-of-the-art 40,000 sq. ft. facility located at 1215 Lower Water Street, a short walk from the beautiful Halifax Waterfront. Featuring four floors of interactive, hands-on learning experiences including an Immersive Dome Theatre, Innovation Lab and Featured Exhibit Gallery that invites traveling exhibits 3-4 times a year. The new Discovery Centre facilitates its not-for-profit mission to bring STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) to life through fun, interactive learning experiences to inspire the curious minds of all ages.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience for younger kids ONLY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My children, aged 12 & 14, found it quite boring due to the fact that most activities can be better enjoyed by much younger children. Although the Discovery Centre has 3 floors, we were there for 45 minutes, after having spent $40 (family of 4). Overall, the center is outdated and would benefit from adding activities for teenage children. Would only recommend to families with children under 10 years of age.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback. Sorry to hear that the experience wasn't great for your older children; but you are correct the Centre is geared toward younger children and their families. Hopefully they had some fun! The New Discovery Centre will be a much broader experience and will be relevant for all ages, including teenagers and adults - hopefully we can welcome you there when it opens and your teenagers will benefit from that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    65
    36
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good March Break Activity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although it is more expensive than most children's activity centres, there are many thing to do for children and you can easily spend hours there, without any trouble.

My children love visiting the center every March Break, and there are different exhibits for the children to enjoy.

It is educational and fun for all.

It is worth the admission!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiagirl-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback and positive review. We're glad to hear you enjoy coming back every March Break - see you in 2015, but hopefully sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
1 review
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

With our kids ages 5, 6 and 9 this was a huge hit. Each one had their favorite stations! My daughter (6) was stuck in the bubble room pretty much 80% of our time there and eventually mastered the over the body bubble lol. My youngest daughter (5) loved the bridge, sandbox, running by the light, and my son loved the lego station but also had a blast with the mirrior illusions. We will definitely be returning! 3 levels of fun.

A personal con: The first level, with the games was very loud, and we couldn't hear what they were suppose to do. Just a whole bunch of scrambled noise..so we never really stayed in that area. A shame because it looked pretty interesting. Also we missed the touch and feel tank by 5 minutes and next one wasn't for a few hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank krystinmyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello and thanks so much for your great feedback. We're thrilled to hear that all three of your children had a great visit to the Centre, and we're glad to hear you will be back. Our apologies that you missed the TANKED touch show - we only have two shows per day in an effort to not over-stress the animals. We're also sorry to hear that the noise level was too high at Animal Grossology - I will let our Exhibits Manager know so he can take a look to see if it requires adjustment during busy times. Again, thanks for taking time to write a review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hands on museum is three floors of activities for kids and adults. We have come once or twice a year for about 7 years. The traveling exhibits are always winners. They have had LEGO, polar regions, technology across time, and this time "grossology" where they examined animals and their internal functions. Hint- don't hit up the "guess that smell" stand unless you have a strong stomach : ). There is a theatre for demonstrations and movies. There are family bathrooms and an elevator for accessing the different floors with strollers. There is a big coat check area and we've stowed baby stuff there over the years, as well as our lunch cooler. You are welcome to bring your lunches and eat there. It cost $50 for the five of us and you can spend half a day there easy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monctonmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for this great review and the feedback, and glad to see you keep coming back! You should look into a family membership - for your family it would pay for itself in less than two visits, and there's all kinds of benefits! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For the Child in You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I suggest you collect a bunch of kids, your own and may be from others on your street, and head straight to the Discovery Center in Halifax. The children will salute you for giving them the time of their lives. There is something for every child of any age and you yourself will recall your own child hood and feel you wish you had the Discovery Center then. The beauty about the center is the fact that all the exhibits are interactive and designed to teach children through actual experience. I can’t single out any particular experience because all of them are unique in their own way. You need to visit the place to really appreciate the tremendous learning ability the displays offer to the children. Children would definitely love the Lego blocks area as there are countless blocks for the children to play with.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for such great feedback, and well done on finding your inner child! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Centre also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing