We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grandchildren”
Review of Discovery Centre

Discovery Centre
Ranked #18 of 145 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is now open in its brand new state-of-the-art 40,000 sq. ft. facility located at 1215 Lower Water Street, a short walk from the beautiful Halifax Waterfront. Featuring four floors of interactive, hands-on learning experiences including an Immersive Dome Theatre, Innovation Lab and Featured Exhibit Gallery that invites traveling exhibits 3-4 times a year. The new Discovery Centre facilitates its not-for-profit mission to bring STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) to life through fun, interactive learning experiences to inspire the curious minds of all ages.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took two of our granddaughters for the day. They were thoroughly engaged in a positive and educational experience. Great value!

Thank PhilConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your visit with your grandchildren - thanks for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

My kids have loved the Discovery Centre when they were younger, but its mostly focused on elementary age and I think its my last visit. That's okay. Fun for others

Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks for your review. The Discovery Centre is indeed excellent for young children, but there are some things like LEGO and the films that youth may enjoy. We are certainly planning to have an experience that appeals to a much broader age range in our new facility on the Halifax waterfront. We'll keep the public informed on that as we move closer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were going to go to the Buskers, but it was raining, so the Discovery Centre was our backup plan. The kids had a great time interacting with the exhibits and really enjoyed the Bubble Room, the Lego area, and running against Usain Bolt! The staff were very friendly and the exhibits were clean. My 4yr old really enjoyed feeding and handling the earthworms.

Thank AcuraF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Glad you had such a great visit, thanks for taking the time to write your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our 4 year old spent about 3 hours here during our cruise ship stop in Halifax. Friendly staff, excellent gift shop for educational toys and endless Lego tables made this a favorite. Very close to some nice boutiques and Starbucks for parents as well. The lifelike robotic dinosaurs are a great photo op!

Thank sandiegosunshinemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Glad you had such a great visit, thanks for taking the time to write your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My kids were enthralled by the fun & interactive exhibits that taught them about the wonders of science, and this is better than other similar science exhibits I have seen in Ontarito & Newfoundland and Labrador. However, it is located in the heart of downtown Halifax and it has no parking at all, so it is a terrible location for bringing families. After circling the block a while, we had to park in a municipal parking structure with a posted daily maximum fee of $17.50, yet the terminal charged me $18when we exited!! There are other things to see downtown, but we scratched them all off our itinerary after this experience. Too bad, cuz the kids enjoyed the displays and the staff explained things really well. It's a little overpriced compared to other exhibits of its kind, but it was good quality.

1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. Indeed, parking in downtown Halifax can be a challenge. For future reference, there are some public parking facilities within a few blocks that charge between $10 and $12.50 per day. Or if you're looking for an adventure, you can always park at Aldernay Landing in Dartmouth and take the ferry over to Halifax - almost everything in downtown Halifax is within walking distance from the ferry terminal. Hopefully we'll see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing