We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and a creative menu”

Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're serving upscale comfort food that features the best Nova Scotia producers, pouring quality craft beers along with select big brands, and offering an incredible selection of wines with live entertainment every Wednesday to Sunday and no cover ever. Grab a seat, and get comfortable.Our rustic, historic interior is highlighted by modern design and technology -- we're taking public house to the next level. Serving up your favorite meals with chef-designed twists, offering addictive sharing plates, pouring the best collection of brews, and mixing up refreshing cocktails -- better claim your seat at downtown Halifax's new favorite place to eat and drink.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fun and a creative menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Terrific beer paddles - a great way to sample a bunch of flavors of beer. They have a creative mac and cheese set of options - something I would never order, but when you add in braised ribs and fun things like that - then you absolutely have to try it! Same with appies - not standard fare, which is great. There are so many great restaurants in Halifax, they've done a nice job of differentiating. The only limitation is the loud music. Go early if you actually want to talk with the people you are with. We left for dessert to another restaurant, for while the music was enjoyable - we were there for the conversation and to be with guests. If we wanted a pub with cover charge to enjoy a music night, it would have been different but this is a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought after your visit to The Stubborn Goat. It sounds like the food was a real highlight of the night (and how can it not be after the Mac n Cheese). It's great to hear that you enjoyed our unique approach.

As for the music, we are a pub, so we try to "up" the liveliness a little bit later in the evenings. Next time you're in you can request to sit downstairs where I can assure you it will be a little bit quieter.

Look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    163
    46
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great beers & wines and good variety of foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

One of Halifax's newer restaurants on Grafton St. Large selection of brew pub drafts. Try the " beer flight" (4x2 oz samples of their beers) Smoked meat loaf was superb. Will definitely return. Service was excellent. Food arrives when its ready, hot & delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at The Stubborn Goat! Glad to hear that everything from the foo d, drinks and service was excellent. It sounds like you really enjoyed yourself.

Look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had to try The Stubborn Goat after several recommendations, and I'm so glad that I did. Our party went during lunch time when it was fairly quiet and experienced excellent customer service! Our server Lindsay was so welcoming and I swear knew what we needed before we asked. Everything on the menu looked amazing! We ordered the bacon mac and cheese and the meatball pizza. Both were absolutely delicious! They also had a great beer selection. I really hope to return again one day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFerg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your experience at The Stubborn Goat. I'm glad to hear that Lindsay took such good care of you guys (she's great isn't she). I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the chef about the Mac n Cheese and Pizza - excellent choices! It's so nice to hear such positive feedback and I'll be sure to share your comments with our team!

Looking forward to your next visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent the evening enjoying the food and the atmosphere. Fresh food which for the most part is locally grown and raised. Menu is unique with interesting selections, but even picky eaters will find something. Our party found the food to be very flavourable. Service was teriffic (thanks Matthew)! Food servings were average in size, pricing was a little higher than average but you would expect that due to the organic, local nature. We would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMFHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your visit at The Stubborn Goat! The fresh, local ingredients which go into every dish certainly allow us to deliver such great flavour. I'm glad to hear you were well taken care of by Matthew. I hope we'll see you again soon so you can work your way through our menu!

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gastronomical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

One of the best kept secrets in Halifax. Great food,great atmosphere and even better stall..five stars for the team at the Goat

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SalesGuyinCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi there,

Looks like the secret is out! Thank you for stopping by the pub and leaving a review. It sounds like a great time was had. I hope you'll be back next time you're in Halifax.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Stubborn Goat Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing