We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & breakfast special retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
New Brunswick
1 review
“Bed & breakfast special retreat”
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This bed & breakfast was our first experience and would like to say, what a treat it was. We first found this gem on the internet site for bed & breakfast and my wife was amazed and happy to have had chosen "Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast" for our retreat. The owners welcomed us like relatives, our first encounter with this bed & breakfast will be remembered and cherished by us for a lifetime. We will defenitely be back for another visit and are going to tell, friends and relatives about this beautifull place

  • Liked — Peacefullness and Friendliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeBlancNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

The web site is awesome but the B&B is the owners personal home in a residential neighborhood at least 20 minutes drive from Halifax. They do not issue you a key to the room or their home. You cannot get to your room when they go out; you have to call and wait for them to come or send someone to let you in. We left.
Our opinion- this is their way of having someone else help them pay their mortgage.
Compared to our stays in MANY other B&B's... this was a HUGE disappointment.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank TigerSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickard2007, Owner at Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2007
I do remember the couple who wrote this article and how they ever thought that we would not issue keys, I do not know. The couple in question arrived at 10PM without notifying us of their early arrival. We could not check them in and give them a key as our policy stipulates that cheek-in time is between 4PM and 6PM, we still have guests in our rooms from the previous night. However we did want to be accommodating and did check them in but told the couple to come back later and we would then issue keys. They did come back and decided not to stay. This is the first incident we have had and we do regret that the couple did not stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Brent and Wanda have established an excellent B&B experience for travelers from all over the world. Our time in the beautifully decorated Cottage Suite was comfortable and restful. I loved the claw footed bathtub and enjoyed the colorful decorations.
Brent's breakfasts were not only delicious, but creatively presented. The fruit was done so artfully I wanted to take a picture before I ate it. It tasted better than it looked.
Their other guests were from Germany and the midwest U.S. Wanda and Brent made sure that the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The short drive into Halifax was easy and interesting. We also enjoyed exploring the Bedford area. We highly recommend the Blue Forest Lane B&B.

  • Liked — The interior decoration, art, and food.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank capdoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Brent and Wanda are terrific hosts, and they made us feel quite at home. We were the only guests during our stay and we were quite pampered. They upgraded us to their best room at the lower price, which was quite a nice surprise. Brent made delicious full breakfasts on the two days we were there (we ate too much, but those waffles were so good!). The B&B is in a residential area about a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Halifax, so it was very quiet and relaxing. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the entire house was very pleasant. All in all, one of the best B&Bs we've experienced.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed at the Blue Forest Lane B&B for 2 nights and were very impressed with the relaxed manner in which the hosts greeted their guests. The rooms were tastfully decorated and the breakfasts nicely presented. We truly felt taken care of during our stay with Brent & Wanda.

  • Liked — hosts hospitality
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angeliclovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

The Blue Forest B&B is unlike any other we have visited. It is more like stopping in to spend a night with friends than a commercial establishment. There isn't even a sign out front. The setting is wonderful - a quiet, tree shaded location outside the city, yet less than a 15 minute ride to the heart of Halifax. We stayed in a guest room on the second floor. An unusual room - no shades on the windows and no door (curtains only) on the bath. Room and bath wre very spacious. With the quiet, forest like location we really didn't miss curtains on the windows. Wanda and Brent are artists and their home is decorated with their work. It is really very well done. The breakfasts Wanda prepared each morning were works of art - clearly the best we encountered on this three week trip.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rampbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
103 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 Blue Forest Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B4B 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast is situated in Halifax, Nova Scotia in a country setting, a beautiful neighborhood tucked into a forested area. We are only 10 minutes to the city and 20 minutes to the city waterfront where you will find fine dining, boutique shopping and lots of history about this Maritime city. Come and enjoy a few days of serenity and find out why our guest have called Blue Forest Lane one of the best Bed and Breakfast experiences in Halifax Nova Scotia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Forest Lane Bed And Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing