We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet Location Outside Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very Quiet Location Outside Halifax”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This B & B is situated in an exceptionally quiet location some way out of Halifax, so a car is essential as there are no eating places within walking distance. The house is on a large closely wooded plot which some people might find a bit oppressive.

Our room was the Garden Room, which was spacious, but had no door between the bedroom area and the bathroom - just a curtain. If you don't wish to share your bathroom activities with your companion, you might wish to avoid this room.

The owner, Brent, was friendly and helpful, but there was no sign of Wanda, the lady of the house during our two day's stay and no explanation. Perhaps that was why we were not offered a drink on arrival on a hot day, after a flight from Halifax and drive from the airport - and no water was available in the room. However the breakfasts were good.

We can't exactly pin-point why but, all things considered, a bit disappointing. Surprisingly, B&Bs' seem to be in short supply in Halifax, but we probably wouldn't choose to stay at Blue Forest Lane B & B if we ever returned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door between the bedroom and the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A great location between airport and Halifax to start Nova Scotia tour. The B&B was quiet, clean and met our expections. Our bedroom was spacious and had a whirlpool tub/shower. The bed was comfortable and had quality linens. The innkeepers were friendly, knowledgeable, and the breakfast was great. We would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNAS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although outside Halifax, this B&B is ideal for visiting a large area of Nova Scotia, particularly the scenic coastal villages of Peggy's Cove, Chester, Mahone Bay and Lunenberg,as well as being approximatley a 20 min drive into downtown Halifax. The hosts are very welcoming and my "room" was almost a suite, with spa bath, and small writing table in a sitting room overlooking the gardens. I was welcomed with a cup of tea when I arrived tired and late and the breakfasts were delicious, using lots of fresh ingredients.I will certainly stay again if visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent 3 days in a great B&B Brent and Wanda were the perfect hosts. They were knowledgeable in the local area and gave us excellent recommendations. Room was unbelievable. Bathroon had a whirlpool tub and shower. Several highways in close proximity making it easy to get around. A little outside downtown Halifax but trade off is nice quiet location. Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Brent, the perfect host and a superb cook, made our stay very memorable. The location for this B&B is beautiful, about 25 mins out of downtown Halifax and situated in a forested area. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was delicious and nutricious as Brent varied the menu each day of our 3 day stay. If you enjoy the B&B experience this is a must while in Halifax

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg, florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Spacious comfortable room, very good breakfast, amiable hosts, beautiful landscaping, about 25 minutes from airport and downtown Halifax. A few good restaurants close. Pretty much all you want in a B&B. ,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very welcoming hosts. Excellent gourmet breakfasts. Very quiet location. Beautiful yard and gardens. Lovely and comfortable rooms. Nice conversations with host. Excellent location for touring Halifax and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DontStopExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
103 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 Blue Forest Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B4B 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast is situated in Halifax, Nova Scotia in a country setting, a beautiful neighborhood tucked into a forested area. We are only 10 minutes to the city and 20 minutes to the city waterfront where you will find fine dining, boutique shopping and lots of history about this Maritime city. Come and enjoy a few days of serenity and find out why our guest have called Blue Forest Lane one of the best Bed and Breakfast experiences in Halifax Nova Scotia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Forest Lane Bed And Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing