We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I will say we ended up having an excellent experience! Upon arriving at 4 30 pm
our room was not ready, we waited a half hour and still no room, the girl at the desk
finally told us we were getting an upgrade! An upgrade it was, beautiful, to the
two room suite, couldn`t have asked for more. The wait was worth it. The only
complaint besides the wait would be that upon returning from dining out, and
entertainment, we were confronted with a barrage of police in the lobby and the
hotel on lock down. We are still unsure as to what was taking place, but felt
that it was probably handled well.

Room Tip: 414 beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Once again, for the third year in a row, I had the distinct pleasure of spending some time at the Residence Inn Downtown Halifax in Nova Scotia, Canada. Going back this past January was like coming home to a second family in a facility that radiates warmth and provides the kind of comfort that makes for a relaxed visit. Located in the heart of Halifax, the Residence Inn offers the kind of service and cleanliness that one might expect in a 5-star hotel. I was there with a group of about 16 colleagues on a research project, and everyone in the group had nothing but raves about the hotel. The friendly staff has remained essentially the same over the three years we have been staying there, and it's always nice to catch up on each other's lives over the year between visits, and that in itself speaks volumes for the quality of the hotel. I really can't say enough good about the manager and staff. They are really terrific.
And don't forget, the hotel is located in an area replete with pubs and restaurants - enough to keep a visitor busy and happy. While you are there, try Maxwell Plombs across the street from the front door and Durty Nellie's across the street from the back door. Too, a new restaurant, The Stubborn Goat, has opened three doors down the street. Nice.
The bottom line here is that for a relaxed and enjoyable stay in Halifax, NS, the Residence Inn Downtown Halifax is the right choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Residence Inn is centrally located in downtown Halifax, close to the Metro Centre, the waterfront and many great pubs and restaurants! The rooms are extremely clean and have a full sized fridge with ice-maker which is great! The beds are very comfortable as well as the different types of pillows they have are great! There is an extra charge for underground parking, but it is well worth it! Parking in Halifax is always a headache, so having your car in a heated garage within feet of an elevator to the lobby is perfect! The staff are very friendly and helpful! My only suggestion would be to ask for a room away from the major construction site going on beside the hotel. Overall, this hotel is definitely one of the best places to stay in the city and I have stayed at several other hotels. I will definitely be back when I return to Halifax! (we didn't use the pool or room service)

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the construction site next door.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friendly staff who know the city and where to go great room set up and comfortable beds each night. They include a breakfast each morning it is one of the best free breakfasts you can get. The biscuits are the best too. It is a quiet hotel despite near by bars even on a Saturday night. great spot to stay for a quick over night stay or multi night stay. They have dry cleaning service as well as grocery pick up service which has every thing there for you when you return that night.

Room Tip: corner suites are a bit larger as well they have handicap rooms for people who need them. The room o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelguyNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Management and Staff are always so nice and helpful. Rooms are always clean.. Great location downtown and walking distance to everything you would want or need. Wouldn't think to stay anywhere else. Stayed 36 days last year and 14 this year so far with more to come :)

Thanks to the Staff and Management.

Room Tip: any room or floor is good
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My favourite Marriott property to stay at. They are beyond friendly and caring - they always exceed any expectation
Rooms are spacious and modern with full kitchens and a dining table or bar to eat at.
Complementary wifi(that is actually fast)
An Amazing breakfast with everything you need to start your day, as well as a dinner on a few nights a week.
A wonderful gym with current equipment and lots of space.
By dar the best choice to stay when in downtown Halifax, the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful as they are all suites :)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddlypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stay at this hotel on a monthly basis for business trips to Halifax and find it to be an excellent hotel in a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well-designed.The breakfasts are always good with plenty of choices. The hotel is located within walking distance of numerous restaurants and pubs for an evening out and very close to Neptune Theatre and the Halifax Metro Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legaleze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $142 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing