We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$196
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$230
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
$177
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$190
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$184
$165
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantica Hotel Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$160
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
187
142
33
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
142
33
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstubborn goatfull kitchengreat locationstreet noisesink areastove topargyle stshort blocksunderground parkingbars and restaurantsrooftop pationeptune theatrebedroom suiterooms are spaciousfront desk staffthe sofa bedfree breakfast is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 395 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We love to cook, so a suite with a kitchen was perfect. The staff were courteous and helpful. The location is perfect for walking to all of Halifax's attractions.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank J_Mary_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2013, the layout of the suites is a fairly standard Marriott Residence Inn layout with the suite consisting of a sofabed/divan, open plan kitchenette with granite, adjustable television mount so that it could easily swivel toward the kitchen, divan or queen-size bed, granite bathroom sink and wardrobe inset away from the bed, and comfortable bathroom with good shower, good water pressure (4th floor) and near instant hot water. Lighting is well placed, Internet free, and decor fairly tasteful and visually pleasant.

On the downside the Grafton St suites (west facing) overlook Maxwell's Plum pub which has a parking garage door alongside that folks hoot at in vehicles in order to gain entrance. This can continue after one AM on weeknights and if you sleep lightly I would advise you pick a room over a different street.

Breakfasts were good with varied tasty options daily, including a healthy choice type option (fruit/yoghurt/cereal) hot meal option (varied, but typically eggs and sausage or bacon presented in varied styles) as well as oats with assorted toppings and pancakes. Coffee was excellent and included a decaf option as well as take out insulated cups with lids. The breakfast seating area seats folks comfortably and is well designed with a lounge area. I did not try the gym, but it is on the ground floor, and looked relatively unused.

The hotel offers a grocery stocking service, but there is a Sobey's down Queen Street about a kilometer from the hotel if you feel like the exercise. I did not have the nerve to try Maxwell's Plum pub cuisine on account of some mixed writeups but did try the Stubborn Goat with is about one or two doors south of the Marriott and can affirm that it's reasonably priced with fresh, pleasant fare.

Staff in the hotel were exceptionally friendly and very attentive. Generally a great hotel.

Room Tip: West facing rooms can be noisier.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumplest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was surprised by how busy Halifax was for our (three adults) visit in October. The price of hotels seemed high to me, but the Residence Inn was the best price for a suite. The suite was better than I expected, large, clean, and had many windows with good views. A real door between rooms was appreciated to isolate our snorer. The full kitchen was completely equipped, and everything worked well. In all of our four days we never had to wait to be served at the front desk, to get our breakfast, or for an elevator to our floor. I think the staff was the reason for this smooth operation - they all seemed to have the authority and the knowledge to take care of problems and help customers. During busy breakfast times, I saw front office staff helping in the breakfast room. The location of the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and citadel, and right in the night life area of Halifax which also has a very big choice of restaurants. I did hear some drunks yelling early one morning, but it didn't last long. There was a large construction project across the street from our room but it was not intrusive. The view may be obscured when the work is done. There is a very nice and well equipped roof patio had great views.
I have stayed at two other Residence Inns, and in comparison this one has better service in all areas, more space, and is better maintained. The breakfast seemed to be slightly lower quality and the furnishings were more basic. In summary it's not a luxury hotel but it is run like one and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank step_ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've spent a couple of months in the Hotel this year and have no complaints. It's a great location for downtown and easy to get to places of interest, good food and the bars. The rooms are a great size for settling into and with the kitchen it made cooking easy when we felt a little adventurous. The Hotel is always clean and the staff are welcoming and knowledgable. It's a great place to stay and one we'll use any time we're in town. Many thanks to all the staff, they made us feel really welcome during our long stays and the personal touches on our returns made a big impression.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was what we expected--clean room, comfortable bed, decent breakfast, but it was primarily the Residence Inn Team who made our stay so enjoyable. Their friendly smiles and great sense of humor--we will not soon forget. Thanks to Angela Murphy and her team!

Room Tip: Room 526 comes with a view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews