We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

had a quick one night stay here. Hotel was nice, room was clean and staff were friendly. Stayed overnight on a Saturday, but there was no street noise at all to be heard from our room which was on the fifth floor. The only complaint that I really have (and it's not even really a complaint) is that the parkade can be a little difficult to navigate if you drive a large vehicle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123YHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located downtown with spacious rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The beds are too soft to sleep comfortably, especially if you are trying to sleep with your wife in a king-size bed. The very soft springy mattress carries every little motion at night, if one turns, the other goes bouncing.

The rooms facing Argyle Street are very noisy towards the weekends, it's party time until 3:00 a.m.

Room Tip: Do not face towards the harbor and Argyle Street, if you want some quiet sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragnar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had pleasure staying this hotel. Almost 3 months I have stayed in this hotel. All the facilities are well maintained and clean hotel. Location of this hotel also very attractive. Most of the famous restaurants were at walk in distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulhashram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Residence Inn Halifax is centrally located in the heart of the Grafton/Argyle Street corridor of outdoor bistros. This in itself is not a bad thing, unless one wants to sleep on a weekend night. On Friday and Saturday nights the crowd of fun-loving Nova Scotians can be loud. My sleep was interrupted at 3:30 a.m. on Sunday by the wild and boisterous yelling of young men who I thought were right outside my window, until I remembered that I was on the 5th floor. Recommendation: this is a good place to stay, but you may want to avoid weekends. If staying there on a weekend, choose a 5th floor room, which is as high off the street as you can get, but still not quite high enough.

The housekeeping needs attention. When I arrived on Sunday the trash bin under the sink was filled with the garbage of the last resident. After 2 days of not having any soap delivered, I was under the justifiable impression that one had to buy one’s own bar soap (which I did). The hand soap dish in the bathroom was never cleaned, increasing in liquid volume every day. Finally, the soap dish was cleaned after several days, and new hotel-supplied bar soap was placed in the room for my final night. Upon leaving the next morning I noticed bar soap on the staff’s housekeeping cart, indicating that the lack of soap delivery over several days was just an oversight rather than hotel policy.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly, and the hotel is just a few blocks from waterfront attractions and downtown shopping. The laundry room is generous in size, with three washers and three dryers. There is on-site convenient indoor parking. The free breakfasts are ample, if ordinary, and are especially appreciated when travelling with kids.

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep, try to avoid weekends.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very ample, comfortable, spacious room! Within walking distance of waterfront, which was a nice treat. Staff was very accommodating; we asked for a late check out as we had arrived late the night before. Breakfast bar was great - lots of variety, and plenty of hot coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brmt1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location, wonderful and attentive staff, delicious hot breakfast, a rooftop area with views of the city and waterfront, comfortable bed and spacious room...all in all, a great 3 night stay in a most interesting city. Look forward to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLover29926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Liked this hotel -- comfortable, spacious rooms. Friendly & helpful staff. One problem was that the breakfast area wasn't monitored -- out of forks, glasses, & some other things in the middle of the breakfast hour.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $142 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing