We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel offers comfortable rooms with kitchens and living areas to relax. They are very clean, well appointed, roomy and pleasant. The kitchens include basic needs. Daily breakfast is included with both hot and cold options. There is also a managers reception a few nights a week for a light dinner. The staff is very helpful, pleasant and friendly and will work to make your visit and side trips successful. There is a lovely rooftop patio for viewing the area or enjoying a BBQ. The parking fee was a bit steep at $19 per day plus HST and it is a small area, so larger vehicles are tougher to park. The garbage trucks are early here, before 6 am daily. Otherwise, it is well located for easy trips around the city. Generally an excellent place for longer stays.

Room Tip: Higher floors help escape the garbage truck noise as well as that of the late night pub on the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvaE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the suites, as a frequent traveler it’s nice to have a kitchen and a full size fridge. You also get a little living room with a TV where you can relax. King size bed was comfortable and the bathroom adequate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great location as you are in the middle of the bar and restaurant area, not a bad walk to the waterfront.

You are beside the "big dig" where the city is building a convention center and they are blasting! I did not hear a thing when I was in the room!

Parking is tight like most underground parking in Halifax, I have a RAM 1500 truck so let them know when booking because there are a couple of spots that are somewhat easy to get in to and parking is designated. I just cleared by 1 inch from the roof.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not beside the dig end of the Hotel, it may be little more quite. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location, right in downtown Halifax. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. Short walk to shopping and the waterfront.Room 133 which we stayed in was quite noisy.Just above the garage door for parking. Could hear it go up and down every 10 minutes or so. The windows face Argyle st which are very noisy until about 4am with people going to the pizza shops just down the road. Woken up around 3:30 am with people yelling, kept going for some time. Nice hot breakfast included, lots of variety and fresh fruits as well. The room was nice and a good size. Fridge, dishwasher, stove, utensils, glasses, etc

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor to help with the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent the weekend at this hotel and was very happy. Location is good, lots of dinning options close by when you do not want to cook. They have paid indoor parking. The room was clean that the staff took care of my needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerplantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. Previous was a few years ago. When I checked in I was pleasantly surprised to see a WARNING about the blasting going on every day. Yes it is between 8 am and 6 pm. However if you expect to get any rest, forget it as the Bar across the street has outside speakers that go at least to midnight. Then the hydraulic drilling of rock and the excavators start at 6 am. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU EXPECT TO SLEEP. If the management choses to read this I suggest you provide earplugs for your "guests."

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 15Fathoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was the group organizer for 13 families to attend a Ringete Championship. From the moment of contacting this hotel to get rates they were so helpful and friendly. Checkin on day of arrival was quick. they assign you parking spaces (designated) so you always have a spot. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff helpful and as we had 1 early morning (prior to the breakfast time) they even came in early to make sure our team could eat before the big game!!! Rooms were large and well equiped.
I would highly recommend this hotel for individuals, groups and families!
Great location!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 800travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

3rd time to stay at this hotel and it still does not leave for disappointments. The service is very good, friendly staff, good breakfast. Clean hotel and close to the heart of Halifax, walking distance to shops, restaurants and the shoreline. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $116 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing