We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
“Like coming home...”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have held business meeting events in this location for the last couple of years. The hotel is perfect for our needs and the staff treat us the very best. I can't say enough about how easy they make this event for us. They bend over backwards to make sure we are happy and everything is taken care of to our pleasing. Rooms are very clean and well kept. The recent improvements to their continental breakfast area are georgeous and their hot breakfast is fantastic! If you are staying in downtown Halifax, especially if it's for a few days try this hotel. It's location is great and the staff will look after you!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    136
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
87
130
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great downtown location, but the noise from the bars made for two sleepless nights. It may be better during the week, but we won't take the chance. It would have been nice if the staff was more sympathetic, however I can only image this is a routine complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captbillyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the third year in a row that my girlfriends and I have stayed at this hotel. It has a nice little kitchen which includes frig, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The cupboards are stocked with dishes and a huge king bed with a very comfy pull out sofa make it a perfect spot for four people. It is spotlessly clean. The breakfast (which is included in the price of the hotel) is lovely. Hot cereal, eggs cooked two ways, bacon, potato, yogurt, cold cereal, fruit, pancakes, make your own waffles etc etc. It in a perfect location to check out the surrounding night life and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid noise from the late night party crowd. We were on the 4th floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for Friday and Saturday nights and had a room on the second floor overlooking Grafton Street. The entire place was immaculate; the room size generous and the kitchen facilities well furnished. The complimentary breakfast had hot (eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal) and cold (cereal, yogurt) foods, which we ate in the dining room/lounge with monster flat screen to view the latest on Hurricane Sandy. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They will actually buy food for you to cook, if you are there for a long stay. The location is very central, easy walking just blocks from Spring Garden shopping, the Convention Centre and HarbourWalk. Haligonians know how to party, so there was some action at the bar across the street. Also, police sirens in the wee hours, but I think you would get that anywhere in the core of downtown Halifax. We would stay there again in an instant.

Room Tip: The higher floors may be slightly quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here Monday to Monday in late September and had a great experience. Every room is a suite and they're very comfortable and roomy, including a full-size fridge and dishwasher. The daily breakfast is good, a hot buffet that changes up every day. Parking is expensive ($20/day), though, as are pay-per-view movies (something like $15).

Location is great - walk in any direction and you've found something great! Go downhill a few blocks to the waterfront, uphill a block to the Citadel, right two bocks to Spring Garden Rd (great shops, pubs and St Mary's Cathedral) or left a block to St Paul's Church and more eating spots. We spent quite a bit of time just across the street at Durty Nellie's with great food, drink and service (highly recommend).

Some have been unhappy with the noise level, but even on the weekend, noise wound down by midnight and we had no trouble sleeping. We were on the third level facing the harbour and it was late September, so that might make a difference.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the harbour was great! Had a bit of a view and some noise from the corner pub but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a recent disappointment at another Residence location, I was concerned about what condition we might find the room in. The good news is above par. We stayed here two nights and found the staff and services friendly, helpful and attentive. And the room clean and well maintained! The front desk remembered our room number on our second day and the location was very accessible to all of the major sites in Halifax. Great choice if you are in Halifax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We're here now and in the corner 1 bdrm suite on the 4th floor overlooking Durty Nellie's. Last night, we had great fun watching the parade of young people checking each other out while going from one watering hole to another. It was so much better than TV! We were both on our computers, with no TV on and heard a hum from the street punctuated by the laughter of people enjoying life. It didn't disrupt our sleep for a second. In fact, we used the room darkening curtains and slept through breakfast!

I must add that a couple of times this morning there were even folks manually sweeping the area in front of their businesses with brooms. I love Canada! I've never seen that in the states.

The hotel is just perfect! It includes everything mentioned by others. Our corner room (422) has 4 windows, on 2 sides and we can see the water from 2 of them. It's very comfortable hotel with many places to eat and shop within walking distance. Everyone is helpful and wonderful. In fact, the phone just rang and it was Chelsea in housekeeping. We put the sign on the door that indicated we didn't need cleaning today. She was calling to ask if we needed towels, coffee, etc. Perfect! It couldn't be cleaner or more comfortable.

We have a couple more days here now, but we'll be back again...especially if we can get this room on a Saturday night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing