We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cappuccino!”

The Smiling Goat Organic Espresso Bar
Ranked #8 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Beaver Bank, N.S.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great cappuccino!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped at the Summer street location and picked up a cappuccino. The coffee was very good and smooth. Nice foam and not too sweet. There's not much seating but there is a small patio (sun in not on it in the morning). Good location to explore the Public Gardens and Spring Garden rd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Change??”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited the smiling goat last year almost every morning for four days when we were in Halifax and loved it. However it was not the same this time last weekend. In fact when we were choosing the Hotel one of the plus in hotels favour was that it was next to Smiling Goat, however we were disappointed all three times. Not sure what happened, apparently they opened up another spot in Halifax!!! I wonder if the attention has been diverted to new location and this one has been neglected??..whatever the reason it is a shame because they really had something very good going, hopefully it will go back what it was before.!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Halifax Coffee Spot”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This small cafe on South Park St. is my favourite spot to catch up with friends and drink their AMAZING coffee drinks and espresso. Friendly, knowledgeable staff and great drinks as well as a laid back vibe. Looking over the Public Gardens gives the Smiling Goat a big-city feel - highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaliVFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Right next to the Lord Nelson, the coffee is great and fair trade. You can buy beans here also. The staff is friendly. The atmosphere is cheerful. The offerings of bagels and such is more than adequate. Stop in!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qcquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Knowledgable staff, great coffee”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Knowledgable staff, great coffee. When I didn't have enough cash (cards are only for $10+) they let me take my coffee and biscotti to go and come back with cash later. They also know their stuff, and are happy to chat java with you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessgmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smiling Goat Organic Espresso Bar also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Smiling Goat Organic Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing