We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Don't Get It” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midtown Tavern and Grill

Midtown Tavern and Grill
Ranked #125 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
560 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've been to the old Mid Town many times and to the new Mid Town about a half dozen times. Always on the suggestion of a friend who likes the place. I understand that that it's a landmark in Halifax and I think that's great, but if this place doesn't float my boat, then it's not for me.
The food is always greasy and the service never makes you feel welcome. The draught is just draught and nothing more and it's never really cold. It's ways crowded, even if there are not many people in the place.
The location is perfect but parking is always hard to find, unless you want to pay extra for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old School Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I moved to Halifax after university almost 20 years ago and was quickly introduced to the experience that is the Midtown. I, in turn, made sure that all of my out-of-town guests were introduced to the Midtown, as well.
If you came of age in the 70's and 80's Maritimes, you know The Tavern. Smoky, beery, almost exclusively male (not necessarily a good thing). The ladies room at the old location was in such an awkward spot that it was rumoured that the washroom was only added as an afterthought, after women WERE ALLOWED in beverage rooms! Despite the changing of the times (and a change of location) the Midtown still evokes that feel. You know it would be a great place to spend the afternoon (like, a Tuesday afternoon) with friends, enjoying ice-cold Keith's draft.
I moved back to Moncton 15 years ago but still visit every time in Halifax. The servers are the same from my first visit in 1994, and predate that time as well. That's always a good sign.
The food is bar fare, but well-cooked and reasonably priced.
If you're in town for an event at the Metro Centre (itself a great venue) or a university sporting event, pre-game @ the Midtown is not to be missed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flanalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nothing fancy but a quick meal typical for a tavern. Service was good but for supper hour business was slow. Regarding the price, it was good, you had your money's worth.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAL102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still a must visit when in Halifax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Even after the move it has retained its warm felling and old fashion hospitality. The Grant boys still know how its done (thanks to their farther Doug) I will never pass up an opportunity to 'drop in'

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, KY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nostalgia wins every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Walking around Halifax I found a pit where the old Midtown was. Then I saw the familiar sign in a new building a few blocks away. Being noon, a beer was in order . I had fried scallops, fries and a piece of fish, all very delicious and Ida good standard for a maritime beverage room/tavern.
Beer was no longer 33 cents for a 9 ounce draught but, that's progress.
I wish I could get as good beer and seafood in Kentucky!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Tavern and Grill also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Midtown Tavern and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing