We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot!”
Review of Edna Restaurant

Edna Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome spot!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Edna is a great new spot in the up and coming neighborhood. Truly a great addition to the North end. Great food and service every time we go there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    75
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
235 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent interesting creative food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Great addition to Halifax cuisine! Excellent risotto with super large mushrooms. Minimalist decor with lots of places to hang your coats...very cleverly designed hooks that fit in with decor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax , NS! Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great spot”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there for Sunday brunch. What a busy spot. The three of us got seats at the counter ( the last ones) as all the tables were occupied. Ordered the Crab Cake.... Delicious, lots of crab and served hot. When we were ready to leave there were still about 20 people waiting for seating which goes to show the popularity of this restaurant. So if you are taking in Sunday brunch you may have to wait to be seated but it is worth the wait.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, cool atmosphere, interesting decor”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I visited Edna last night with some friends - we were all very impressed! Our steaks were prepared perfectly and the sides (fries and salads) were very nice as well. The style is unique and the atmosphere is cool. The seating is interesting: we sat at the long communal table, which definitely fits the overall vibe of the restaurant. Although the setting and decor is somewhat simple or minimal, it is very tasteful and definitely gives Edna a very hip feel.

Prices were definitely reasonable: in fact, I would consider this restaurant a great value pick. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“what a treat”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had been meaning to visit Edna for months. A colleague mentioned that it was now his favourite Halifax restaurant. Service was exceptional and the meal was perfect. God portions fresh fare and good presentation. Oysters were perfectly presented, duck was very nice and the only wish I had leaving was that I had asked for a little more rum sauce for my gingerbread. Next visit I will and the meal I am sure will be perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edna Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Edna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing