We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bar, great band playing”

The Carlton Music Bar & Grill
Ranked #177 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good bar, great band playing”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

For a five dollar cover on a saturday night, we saw a really great band play. We sat at the bar and had drinks, one of the bar tenders being a stand up comic we saw the night before at yuk yuk's! get there early-ish for seats though if you want to see the band.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
“The best music room in Canada now has a matching food experience.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The recent menu changes at the Carlton now raise the food experience to the same high bar already set for the entertainment.
4 of us went recently for a Russell deCarle show.....that is another 5/5.....it was our first time with the new menu and room Reno.
Lots of new selections but also the Frites,lamb lollipops and grilled cheese remain. The food was obviously fresh and amped up for maximum flavour and presentation. The burger, drumsticks,Caesar and the evenings chicken special all got top marks at our table.
The prices are very very reasonable for the quality of food and service level.
Service was professional and the pace was perfect. Wine list has a couple Local listings and although compact something for everyone.
The Carlton is now not only a destination for one of the best music rooms in NA but also now worth it just for the food and wine.
Great job Mike and team....Halifax is lucky to have The Carlton

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank narrowband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witless Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fries”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Had the fries in 2010 and again this past weekend. Love them!! I will visit this place every time I'm in Halifax. Love that Mike Campbell owes this place. Grew up watching him on Much. A little piece of history in downtown halifax.

Helpful?
Thank dellastar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Three or four times now it's exceeded expectations”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It's a bar that serves food. It's a bar with historic character, but it's a bar. I've been there with groups a few times now over the last year. The Spring menu seems more bar-ish than the last time I was there, but generally, similar experience every time. Look at the menu; think "it's not bad, but it's clearly a bar and not so much a restaurant; ask the server what's good; order what the server suggests; and have a much better meal than expected. How many bars serve brussels sprouts as a side? Personally, not so exciting for me, but others in the party were impressed. I had the steak and it was reasonably priced, well cooked, and just plain tasty. And considerably better than the steak that cost double from the steakhouse chain down the street.
All in all, very good. And definitely better than expected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TO HELL WITH THE FOOD...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

... It's all about the music! I'm sure the food is lovely but this place is brought to life by the music. This is a venue created, cultivated and run by musicians where musicians, like myself, who play their own instruments, write their own songs, and are not in it for the $ go to enjoy one another. It is my heaven in my favourite city in the world.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaLilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carlton Music Bar & Grill also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Carlton Music Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing