We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell short of our expectations”
Review of Piatto

Piatto
Ranked #43 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Piatto is a gathering place centred around a passion for fine food, fabulous wines, friends and family. Check out the little gems we've come across—diverse wines from across the globe, authentic Neapolitan wood-fired pizza, coffee and fabulous desserts—all in a casual atmosphere and with reasonable prices. In our world, authenticity is big. Our pizzaiolo use ingredients and procedures regulated by the Italian governing association (VPN)—so you experience a "true" pizza like you would find in the energetic pizzerias in Naples, Italy (but without the airfare).
Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fell short of our expectations”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This time last year we were eating pizzas all over Italy so when we heard a VPN certified pizzeria was coming to Halifax we were excited to try it. Unfortunately the pizza fell short. The big thing was that the crust was soggy and undercooked. Secondly, the pepperoni used tasted like Brother's extra hot and did not fit the Italian taste. Customer service was excellent and after our meal a young lady asked for our opinion and was very quick to offer a complimentary dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    104
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ate here twice, menu not hugely extensive but great authentic pizzas, really tasty. Wine list limited but reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Piatto Pizza a Plus”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

You know that a place is good when there's a line up to the door late into the evening at a restaurant. We didn't have to wait long for a table (without reservations). Lovely big open view of the pizza oven. We started off with generous and fresh salads. This being a pizza place, we ordered 2 to share between 3 of us. Excellent and enough for a doggie bag too. The staff was warm and friendly. The place was full of happy people. Families. Couples. Girls night Out. I bet it's even busier on a cold night in Halifax. Close to the waterfront and a hop/skip/jump to The Westin.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brigit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lunch Special? Skimping on the salad”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have visited many times and have always been happy. Today I had the lunch special, the food is good, however the salad is half the size as what they normally serve for lunch.

Disappointing

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found Piatto in Halifax as we were looking to eat something other than fish and chips. The pizza place is certified VPN (vera pizza napoletana) and it is fantastic! We went into the restaurant around 2:30pm, after the lunch rush and the service was slower than expected. Don't let this throw you off from eating there - the pizza was worth it!
We had 3 pizza's, one sicilian, one margherita and one with pepperoni and they were all delicious. The added bonus was that we could purchase a glass of quality red wine for a reasonable price!
I would recommend you stray from the "usual fare" of Maritime food and head for Piatto as you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyM1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing