We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piatto Pizza a Plus”
Review of Piatto

Piatto
Ranked #43 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Piatto is a gathering place centred around a passion for fine food, fabulous wines, friends and family. Check out the little gems we've come across—diverse wines from across the globe, authentic Neapolitan wood-fired pizza, coffee and fabulous desserts—all in a casual atmosphere and with reasonable prices. In our world, authenticity is big. Our pizzaiolo use ingredients and procedures regulated by the Italian governing association (VPN)—so you experience a "true" pizza like you would find in the energetic pizzerias in Naples, Italy (but without the airfare).
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Piatto Pizza a Plus”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

You know that a place is good when there's a line up to the door late into the evening at a restaurant. We didn't have to wait long for a table (without reservations). Lovely big open view of the pizza oven. We started off with generous and fresh salads. This being a pizza place, we ordered 2 to share between 3 of us. Excellent and enough for a doggie bag too. The staff was warm and friendly. The place was full of happy people. Families. Couples. Girls night Out. I bet it's even busier on a cold night in Halifax. Close to the waterfront and a hop/skip/jump to The Westin.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brigit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    109
    35
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lunch Special? Skimping on the salad”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have visited many times and have always been happy. Today I had the lunch special, the food is good, however the salad is half the size as what they normally serve for lunch.

Disappointing

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found Piatto in Halifax as we were looking to eat something other than fish and chips. The pizza place is certified VPN (vera pizza napoletana) and it is fantastic! We went into the restaurant around 2:30pm, after the lunch rush and the service was slower than expected. Don't let this throw you off from eating there - the pizza was worth it!
We had 3 pizza's, one sicilian, one margherita and one with pepperoni and they were all delicious. The added bonus was that we could purchase a glass of quality red wine for a reasonable price!
I would recommend you stray from the "usual fare" of Maritime food and head for Piatto as you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyM1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza, make sure you are not on a tight schedule”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice restaurant, the pizza oven is the centerpiece of the restaurant and is impressive.

My friend and I both ordered pizzas, hers with a tomato sauce base ans mine a pesto base. Both were delicious. The crust was incredible and the amount of toppings on both was perfect. All of the ingredients tasted fresh and every bite was enjoyable. The only propblem was the hour wait for the pizzas. It was reasonably busy when we were there, but by no means full. When we arrived se mentioned we were attending a concert and only had 1:15, which should be plenty of time for pizza....but it wasn't. Our pizzas took 57 minutes to arrive. They did arrive at the same time which was a nice touch.

What was more disappointing than the wait was that our server did not stop by once in those 57 minutes. Had she checked on us, we both would have ordered a second glass of wine, and had our waters topped up. Speaking of wine, I was not a fan of the wine glasses-they felt like a juice tumbler you'd give to a small child. My guess is these are the type of wine glasses used in the area the oven is from or there is some reason for them, but I found them underwhelming for sure.

Will return and hopefully the delay was an isolated incident. As it was, the pizza was worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smilinghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In Halifax to drop our daughter off to University, we found Piatto after a number of attempts to get into other restaurants, and are we happy it turned out that way!

We tried to order Bruschetta, but they were out so we settled on 2 pizzas between the three of us:
Cielo and Pollo di Pesto (look them up on their website), both were delicious.

We ordered the Tiramisu for dessert and, if possible, it was better than the pizza. Awesome.

We will definitely try to return here in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing