We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, make sure you are not on a tight schedule”
Review of Piatto

Piatto
Ranked #42 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Piatto is a gathering place centred around a passion for fine food, fabulous wines, friends and family. Check out the little gems we've come across—diverse wines from across the globe, authentic Neapolitan wood-fired pizza, coffee and fabulous desserts—all in a casual atmosphere and with reasonable prices. In our world, authenticity is big. Our pizzaiolo use ingredients and procedures regulated by the Italian governing association (VPN)—so you experience a "true" pizza like you would find in the energetic pizzerias in Naples, Italy (but without the airfare).
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza, make sure you are not on a tight schedule”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice restaurant, the pizza oven is the centerpiece of the restaurant and is impressive.

My friend and I both ordered pizzas, hers with a tomato sauce base ans mine a pesto base. Both were delicious. The crust was incredible and the amount of toppings on both was perfect. All of the ingredients tasted fresh and every bite was enjoyable. The only propblem was the hour wait for the pizzas. It was reasonably busy when we were there, but by no means full. When we arrived se mentioned we were attending a concert and only had 1:15, which should be plenty of time for pizza....but it wasn't. Our pizzas took 57 minutes to arrive. They did arrive at the same time which was a nice touch.

What was more disappointing than the wait was that our server did not stop by once in those 57 minutes. Had she checked on us, we both would have ordered a second glass of wine, and had our waters topped up. Speaking of wine, I was not a fan of the wine glasses-they felt like a juice tumbler you'd give to a small child. My guess is these are the type of wine glasses used in the area the oven is from or there is some reason for them, but I found them underwhelming for sure.

Will return and hopefully the delay was an isolated incident. As it was, the pizza was worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smilinghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    109
    36
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, NB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In Halifax to drop our daughter off to University, we found Piatto after a number of attempts to get into other restaurants, and are we happy it turned out that way!

We tried to order Bruschetta, but they were out so we settled on 2 pizzas between the three of us:
Cielo and Pollo di Pesto (look them up on their website), both were delicious.

We ordered the Tiramisu for dessert and, if possible, it was better than the pizza. Awesome.

We will definitely try to return here in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Pizza since Italy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place completely exceeded expectations. Pizza is generally a pretty easy dish to "get right" but the pizzas we had at Piatto were above and beyond. The tomato sauce tasted fresh and homemade--the crust was crisp and thin and at our table everyone's pizza was raved about. The atmosphere is chic but I wouldn't bother with the outdoor seating as it's basically right on the sidewalk. We had an Italian friend with us that evening and he said it was the best pizza he has had outside of Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurong_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I dined here last week for lunch. Pizza was superb...very generous portion as well.We ate outdide which really added to the ambiance since it was such a lovely day. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Yes you can get good pizza in Halifax”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, I was really pleasantly surprised! The Caprese salad had a nice thick balsamic reduction on the plate, the tomatoes and mozzarella were both very flavorful and then bring on the Diavola Pizza that was beautiful! Very tempted to go back the following night. It was spicy (I added some hot oil), good crust, well balanced with no shortage of topping, ranks right up there with many I have had in Italy, and yes I am not exaggerating. Finished off with a good espresso and an acceptable grappa, couldn't have asked for much better. I don't know about their other pizzas, but this one rocked! It will be a must on return trips.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing