We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous tour!

We had a great time on our tour! Racheal was a fabulous host and added so much history and flavour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Trip290424
via mobile
Fantastic Tour!

We were visiting Halifax on a cruise and booked this tour directly through the Local Tasting Tour... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Thad O
Read all 228 reviews
  
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
206
17
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
17
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food tour food scene downtown halifax downtown tour a wonderful tour guide highly recommend this tour local history donair rum cake wonderful afternoon chowder great stories spend an afternoon booked this tour cruise ship nova scotia somo
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time on our tour! Racheal was a fabulous host and added so much history and flavour to this great tour. Can't wait to do it again!

Thank Trip290424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting Halifax on a cruise and booked this tour directly through the Local Tasting Tour web site. It was the best excursion we had during our two weeks on the cruise - definitely beating out the tours we booked from the ship! Rachel was very knowledgeable about not only the restaurants we visited, but also about the city of Halifax. We would recommend this tour to everyone. We visited six restaurants that all offered a variety of delicious foods.

Thank Thad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're on a cruise ship and have just a day in Halifax, this pleasant and nicely priced afternoon food tour pairs nicely with a morning Halifax scenic bus excursion. Both begin and end a short walk from the ship. Our tour guide Rachel appears to genuinely love being part of the Halifax food scene and took us to seven or eight of her favorite eateries where we enjoyed a wide range of tastings. (My favorite was a quaint used bookstore where we ate pecan tarts and drank in house roasted coffee.) Along the way she nicely highlighted the architecture and history of the neighborhoods.

Thank AlinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour! I hope Halifax treated you right during your short stay. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I did the Downtown Halifax Food Tour last week. Even though we only live a couple of hours away and we go to Halifax several times per year, our guide Rachael made us discover new places we had never attended. Food was great, chefs/owners background stories were very interesting and Rachael was an amazing tour guide. We were able to learn more about this fabulous city and some of the little gems we didn’t know about. Rachael was also able to give us restaurant recommendations for our future visits. We would HIGHLY recommend any tours given by Rachael!!!

Thank rgallant1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time. The restaurants Rachel took us to were unique and amazing. A great variety. New and old. Fancy and very casual. The history lesson as we walked through several local neighborhoods was very appreciated. I would certainly advise friends to take this food tour.

Thank 1294smkams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this independently for a shore excursion on a cruise. Lots of reassuring emails and we were told the exact location where we would be met. Rachel was amazing, so friendly and full of information about the local area - she really does have her finger on the pulse as to what's going on in the local food scene.
Between establishments, she also gave us a brief history of the architecture we walked through. She took us to some outstanding places and some new places who were just starting up; all of whom served delicious food. It was incredible value for money and I would definitely recommend it.
Thanks Rachel for a wonderful afternoon.

Thank zany_janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rachael did an excellent job of the tour
We stopped at 10 restaurants
She was very knowable of past and present Halifax history
Nice variety of restaurants
Thanks

Thank Phoneguywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip! We hope to see you again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I loved this tour. Rachael was lovely, she knew a lot about the area and was happy to chat about anything and everything on our way to each stop.

The stops were great, not too much walking between them and they all had roots in the city which was great.

The balance was really good too, some stops had little niblbes while others had more filling portions. Definitley recommend this tour as a way to sample the food in Halifax and there's enough eating on the tour for a lunch option.

Loved it!

Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for such a great recommendation. We're so glad you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We do food tours wherever we go if possible! It’s a good way to see where the locals eat and learn some history about the city! I’m embarrassed to say I can’t remember the name of the young lady that guided our tour, b/c you could tell she loved her job and she gave off that enthusiasm to those around her! Loved all the stops.. she introduced us to DONAIRS... something that MUST be experienced... told us about the Halifax explosion and answered questions as best to her knowledge! My only complaint is that most of our tours end with something sweet, and this one ended with chowder, but Would DEFINITELY do this tour again!!!

Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip! We hope to see you again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

A food tour is always a great way to see a new city. We chose this tour while on a cruise. We walked from our ship to the tour beginning and tasted at 8 stops. They were all delicious!! And we ended up only ten minutes from the ship! Rachel was a great guide. The stop at the Art Gallery was a nice detour. The dosants could have been cut into smaller bites, as well as the brownies at the next stop! It is hard to eat that many sweets. The stop at the local tea house was amazing and I love exploring local foods as we did in our last stop!! A great value for the food, information and conversation!

Thank Paradise814310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Local Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you so much for attending the tour! The portions are definitely generous, we thank our partners for that!
I hope you enjoyed your stop in Halifax--we are always thankful for our tourists. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews