We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commons Inn
Nearby Hotels
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Nova Scotian(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$177
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Halifax(Halifax)
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
20
54
52
31
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
54
52
31
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingminute walk from the waterfrontfree breakfastsome tlcclose to downtownantique furniturebooked this hotelvisiting halifaxcitadelprosconswharf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 204 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room was not high end spiffy, but it was clean, the bed comfortable, and included a large screen tv, microwave and fridge. The free breakfast included bread, muffins, cereals, dress fruit, yogurt, kraft cheese slices and ice cream (didn't understand that but whatever). The hotel itself was a little worn around the edges but that gives it charm. It was a 10 min walk to the bus for the airport and a 15 min walk downtown. I felt it was definitely good value for the money and would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at the Inn for 4 nights and it was an ok place to stay for the price. Nice neighbourhood, well situated for walking down to the harbourfront and breakfast was ok. The staff were helpful explaining about the town and they were flexible about check out time

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first trip to Halifax and the Commons Inn was recommended by a lovely lady at the tourist info booth in Peggy's Cove. Thank you so much, we really loved the place.The Inn was so quaint with antiques everywhere and a very comfortable room. This is an older building but great care was taken in keeping it up to standards. The Inn's walking proximity to downtown Halifax and the harbour made it the ideal place to stay. We would advise anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: 4 floors no elevator
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURU2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Inn was several blocks from the city center. We liked this because we like to walk. It was very quiet and both persons we dealt with were very helpful in giving directions, etc. This is not a fancy place but it is beyond basic. We thought it had been converted from a dormitory but were told that it was built as a hotel. The breakfast was mezza mez--the coffee was weak so if you are a coffee afficiando or just need a jolt to get going, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldRose62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We first picked this hotel to stay at because of the value (traveling in Halifax during peak season can be expensive, so we wanted to cut costs where we could). When we checked in, we were very pleased - the staff member who checked us in was very friendly and accommodating. When we got to our room, we found it to be very cute - all of the decor matched the feel of this quaint, old building. There was a large mini fridge and a new TV. The bathroom also appeared to have been newly renovated. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, too!

The continental breakfast in the basement was perfect - coffee, tea, muffins, cereal, yogurt, toast...the list goes on! The staff kept the facilities very clean and well-stocked.

Although the area isn't too close to the main tourist area (the Halifax waterfront), we took a lovely 40-minute walk down some residential streets to get there, even passing the old armoury that we never would have seen if we stayed closer to where all the action is! There is a lovely new bar nearby to the hotel, and ample access to transit as well.

Although it didn't affect us at all, I would warn anybody with limited mobility about the fact there are no elevators (as far as we could see), so you may want to contact this hotel in advance to inquire about accessibility.

Well done to everybody at this lovely little hotel!

Room Tip: Ask about a room on the main level if you have limited mobility, as there are no elevators as far as we could see.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikiSchmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews