We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pebble - Slice of Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Pebble - Slice of Serenity”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just stayed for two nights around 4 and 5 July - what an absolute pleasure to stay at The Pebble. Elizabeth is an incredibly generous host, and I did not feel like a guest but more like a neighbor, having tea in her kitchen and just talking. I stayed in the Armview room which was so lovely. I would disagree with the review that had negative review especially on that room - The Pebble, like many B&Bs, is the proprietor's home and repairs can't always be scheduled around when there are guests or Mother Nature; Halifax and much of Nova Scotia had just had at least 6 or 8 week of constant rain and moisture - you can't paint in that. Breakfast was delicious - more than I could eat! Elizabeth was also spot on for recommendations of what to see and where to eat. Would stay here again and definitely recommend it! Darlene R

Room Tip: I stayed in Armview - it has better view (and thankfully portable aircon as it was a serious heat wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
127
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 days on a wet and wonderful Canada Day. Great accommodations and Elizabeth and Dave could not have been more helpful and thoughtful with Phyllis's food requirements . Lovely house kept by a grand couple. See you soon guys

Phyllis and Steve

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Liz, a petite red headed and energetic woman opened the door to welcome us when we arrived. She welcomed us into her lovely home during an impromptu visit to Halifax on the week-end last week. Lucky for us, someone had cancelled and we stayed in a very loving home. As experienced travelers who are more picky than the average person, we couldn't be happier with her and the Pebble BnB. We had a great bed with soft cotton linen, great conversation, a hardy healthy breakfast, complementary port wine by night and the use of the terrace in the evening, topped off with a lot of laughter. We really could not have asked for more from her and our stay. We will definitely stay with her again when we are back in Halifax!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller room. i prefer it because of the view. but if you love gorgreous bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzadehMahinpou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Pebble for 7 nights in June. Elizabeth was a very friendly, entertaining and warm host. However, we have stayed in many B&B's and I would presently not rate this one a 5 star for the reasons that: the room we stayed in (The Armview Room) was badly in need of painting with plaster repairs on walls and pictures on the floor. Although the linens were top quality, the bed was very high in the middle so there was the constant feeling of rolling out of bed at night. Dirty towels were not removed daily. The breakfasts were portabella mushrooms or oatmeal or a pancake type dish or freezer English muffins, margarine, not butter, grocery store jam, although she occasionally served fresh squeezed juice and stewed fruit with yogurt and the coffee was excellent. Elizabeth would make eggs for us if we specifically requested them but it seemed like she would rather not. She also lit a fire in the living room one evening. All in all, I think with some tweaking this B&B could be 5 star but not the week we were there.

Room Tip: Maybe the Pebble room is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The only issue with staying at The Pebble is you just won't want to leave! Liz is a gracious host & opens up her beautiful home with a heart & a half. Our bedroom was a haven after long days exploring Halifax; from the marshmallow-soft pillows & crisp linens to the deep bath tub, with its Brown toiletries. Breakfast was so generous that we often skipped lunch: over our stay we devoured everything from warm apple souffle straight from the oven to fluffy scrambled eggs with roast tomatoes & toasted crumpets. But what we most enjoyed were our chats with Liz & our fellow guests. The Pebble offers all the luxury of a 5 star boutique hotel; but all the warmth & personality of a stay with a good friend. We would not hesitate to recommend it highly enough; especially to visitors from Ireland, as Liz is also a very proud Kerry woman with some enviable literary connections! Maria Moynihan & Danny Riordan, Tralee, Co Kerry, Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in The Pebble for two nights on 8th and 9th June. It is a lovely house and Elizabeth made us feel very much at home. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, and I think this would have to be rated as our favourite.
The breakfasts were wonderful, and we would have no hesitation in recommending The Pebble to anyone planning a trip to Halifax.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank helenNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Pebble Bed & Breakfast for 5 days in early May 2013 in celebration of our 1-year wedding anniversary. We had a tremendous time and this spot was absolutely lovely. Elizabeth was a fantastic hostess and we will never forget her generosity, elegance, and hospitality. The food she prepared was delicious and the dwelling was incredibly cozy and welcoming. Staying here made our trip that ever more memorable and wonderful. Halifax will forever hold a special place in our hearts as a result of having stayed at the Pebble. PS-mark our words, this place is the next Acapulco (inside joke!). Sincerely, fellow Torontonians, Erica & Arian :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,804 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
644 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pebble Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pebble Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1839 Armview Terrace, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 4H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pebble offers a uniquely memorable experience of understated luxury combined with the warm hospitality of an engaging hostess. Attention to detail and the needs of our guests set The Pebble apart as demonstrated by the many excellent testimonies received. A stay at the Pebble with Elizabeth will make her warm hospitality a highlight of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Pebble Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pebble Bed & Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing