We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the atmosphere and gluten-free”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro By Liz

Le Bistro By Liz
Ranked #19 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Liz Ingram-Chambers brings you Le Bistro by Liz, where you will find a bit of old world French charm right in the heart of Halifax. A quaint, cozy full of life restaurant that features lots of Parisian cafe favorites, cooked in an open style kitchen.From the moment you enter the doors you get caught up in the unpretentious atmosphere, hear the buzz of friendly conversation and experience the best in customer service. Offering quick lunches, great brunches and evenings that never end live entertainment Wednesdays through Saturday nights Weekends brunches includes FREE drink Le Bistro is the place for any occasion or delectable delight.Le Bistro by Liz is now open and waiting to serve you!
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the atmosphere and gluten-free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have eaten here as it has changed hands through a number of owners. The atmosphere of the place has remained and it is a pleasant place for a night out. First time that we had been there with live entertainment. It was lovely and not overbearing - just right and in the background. Their gluten free options are well done including gluten free bread at the table. More typically the gluten free person at the table just has to live without any bread. The food was just average for an evening meal and would recommend eating off the lighter menu items such as pizza. Would go back just for the atmosphere. And the service was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    91
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little French Restaurant in Halifax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Le Bistro was recommended to us by a few of our friends so we finally tried it out. They have great specials (free mimosa with your brunch order) and often have live music. They food was excellent and service was quick. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a casual dinner in the south end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magnificant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the classical guitarist, to the wonderful bistro table, through the $5 wine -by-the-glass special, past the delightful waitress (Kat), and finally with the food, this was a delightful evening from beginning to end. Our table of four feasted on brie, salad, and soup to begin with ... moved on to beef stew, lamb shanks, and chicken stuffed with brie .... and ended with a perfect lemon-ice pie. We completely enjoyed our little of Paris, all whilst never leaving Halifax!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

First time back to this new version of Le Bistro and we were not disappointed. All 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the mussels carbonara and escargots were amazing. Service was very good, the atmosphere nice, not too crowded, not too loud. My only potentially negative comment would be that the live entertainment (which was amazing), was a little loud, making it difficult to have a conversation at the table and we were not seated overly close to the staging area. We will definitely go back. Highly recommend for couples and friends, could be a challenge for children, as I did not see any fare on the menu that would appeal to most young kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz I, Manager at Le Bistro By Liz, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your response ..We do have live entertainment and sometimes if they are a little loud just ask us to turn down the volume and we would be happy to accommodate you..Yes we do cater to kids/families too and we have a great kids menu..we usually only give it to kids when they come in:) Thanks again for joining us at Le Bistro Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, service, value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stumbled upon this place looking for another.... how fortunate for us! It was our last night in Halifax and it was a great restaurant for that. The ambience was very nice... seemed like mostly locals dining there. It was a Sunday night and they offered a free salad, soup or appie with every entree ordered. They had specials for other nights. We had a wonderful thai coconut curry tomato soup followed by our entrees which were both excellent. Our server, Nancy I think, was great. She was so friendly and provided awesome service. This place was not listed anywhere that we had seen for tourists but we would definitely recommend it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellover3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro By Liz also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Le Bistro By Liz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing