We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro By Liz

Le Bistro By Liz
Ranked #19 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Liz Ingram-Chambers brings you Le Bistro by Liz, where you will find a bit of old world French charm right in the heart of Halifax. A quaint, cozy full of life restaurant that features lots of Parisian cafe favorites, cooked in an open style kitchen.From the moment you enter the doors you get caught up in the unpretentious atmosphere, hear the buzz of friendly conversation and experience the best in customer service. Offering quick lunches, great brunches and evenings that never end live entertainment Wednesdays through Saturday nights Weekends brunches includes FREE drink Le Bistro is the place for any occasion or delectable delight.Le Bistro by Liz is now open and waiting to serve you!
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited Halifax last week for the first time in several years. Decided to visit Le Bistro as it used be a favourite spot for us. Arrived Sunday at lunch time to find that the Brunch Menu was in operation but I was craving the seafood crepes off the main menu. The owner overheard me saying this to a waitress and after checking with the chef offered to cook the crepes for me and mussels for my wife. Both dishes were as we remembered them....delicious. You can't beat great food and outstanding service except I also thought that the prices were very reasonable compared to other Halifax restaurants. Highly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brithea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    91
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Dining in Halifax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Le Bistro by Liz is a gem! The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the staff are well-trained and very knowledgeable. Best of all - the food is outstanding! I've enjoyed dinner and lunch, and it's always consistently excellent. We even booked our office Christmas Party there and everyone was very impressed. Make sure you meet Liz on your visit too - she is passionate about creating a great experience, and you will enjoy meeting her!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch, duck salad yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed the french look at this restaurant. All the windowns are nice. We had salads for lunch and we both enjoyed them. I had the duck salad which was very yummy. The rest of the menu looked good. Our server was very pleasant. Prices are normal for this style.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Halifaxfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a real find for out-of town visitors. It is very conveniently located on South Park St. within easy walking distance from the historic Lord Nelson Hotel. The lovely atrium sets a cosmopolitan tone and the whole restaurant has a feel of "Old France." Liz, the owner/manager, makes everyone welcome. Service is invariably of high order, Guests are treated to delicious bread right out of the oven. Food (with a nod again to the French) is varied with dishes available for the health conscious. Reservations are desirable. Wine menu is not huge, but quite satisfactory. Very good restaurant for special events like graduations, etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST place in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hidden gem has recently become one of my favs. After the meal we had the other night I can't stop telling people that this place is a must try. The prices are phenomenal and the food even better. The service at Le Bistro is amazing and couldn't have been any better. I can't have gluten and I was very happy at how accommodating they were to my needs. Anyone with a single bad thing to say about this place is foolish and are just looking to complain.
Look out the rest of Halifax this place is HOT!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyEvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro By Liz also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Le Bistro By Liz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing