We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous atmosphere, good food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro By Liz

Le Bistro By Liz
Ranked #20 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Liz Ingram-Chambers brings you Le Bistro by Liz, where you will find a bit of old world French charm right in the heart of Halifax. A quaint, cozy full of life restaurant that features lots of Parisian cafe favorites, cooked in an open style kitchen.From the moment you enter the doors you get caught up in the unpretentious atmosphere, hear the buzz of friendly conversation and experience the best in customer service. Offering quick lunches, great brunches and evenings that never end live entertainment Wednesdays through Saturday nights Weekends brunches includes FREE drink Le Bistro is the place for any occasion or delectable delight.Le Bistro by Liz is now open and waiting to serve you!
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a real find for out-of town visitors. It is very conveniently located on South Park St. within easy walking distance from the historic Lord Nelson Hotel. The lovely atrium sets a cosmopolitan tone and the whole restaurant has a feel of "Old France." Liz, the owner/manager, makes everyone welcome. Service is invariably of high order, Guests are treated to delicious bread right out of the oven. Food (with a nod again to the French) is varied with dishes available for the health conscious. Reservations are desirable. Wine menu is not huge, but quite satisfactory. Very good restaurant for special events like graduations, etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    88
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST place in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hidden gem has recently become one of my favs. After the meal we had the other night I can't stop telling people that this place is a must try. The prices are phenomenal and the food even better. The service at Le Bistro is amazing and couldn't have been any better. I can't have gluten and I was very happy at how accommodating they were to my needs. Anyone with a single bad thing to say about this place is foolish and are just looking to complain.
Look out the rest of Halifax this place is HOT!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyEvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistency needs some work.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We eat here regularly because we love the way they do their haddock. However, we have noticed that if we expand our selection the quality of the dinner seems to depend on whether Liz (the owner) is around - or not! Most recently, my husband ordered a dish that appeared to have been microwaved and was already cooling off. I am pretty sure the burger I had was pre-cooked and reheated. Or else it had been cooked to death. In Liz' absence service from the bar was slow while the bartender and our waiter had a chat and our drinks sat on the counter next to them.
So if you are thinking of going, call first to see if Liz is going to be there. It is popular so on weekends you should get a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGM3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Made a reservation (6 people) for supper here last week on someone else's recommendation.
- I had the special of the day which consisted of a piece of salmon with cajun spices and a sweet sauce over mashed sweet potato followed by a piece of Cheese Cake and my wife had the "PETONCLES AUX CHAMPIGNONS" which consists of Digby scallops in a cream sauce with gourmet mushrooms and shallots served over whole wheat fettuccine followed by a piece of Lemon Parfait Pie.
Everyone enjoyed their meal and the service was very attentive.
This was indeed a great find and I would recommend to anyone who would enjoy a French Bistro setting.
Thank You Liz !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Service was excellent, food was surperb. A little noisy though, buy everybody was just having fun. This was my first time there. My friend took me there. She goes all the time amd raves about it. She was absolutely right. Love it, will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro By Liz also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Le Bistro By Liz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing