We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$158
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$201
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$125
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
33
34
12
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
34
12
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasbig kitchengreat locationsingle roomwithin walking distancevia stationstayed here for a weekfarmers marketbarrington stfour nightsrooms are spaciouseasy accessdormsupermarketwaterfrontlinenslock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 95 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a fabulous hostel - it's big enough to house the numbers of people, great kitchen facilities and knowledgeable staff. Friendly dorm-mates, everyone is fun and easy-going.

Only downside is kitchen opens at 7.30am and earlier would be better for the excursions which leave early in the morning. Also, room was cold at first but staff quick to privde blacnkets and a heater.

Managed to safely store luggage for 4 days and it's a great base to explore the region - PEI, Cape Breton etc

Room Tip: Shared dorm rooms are plenty big enough and ample washroom facilities all clean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellingTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It seems as if their mattrasses came with the settlers- I paid way too much, to get some sleep, but I ended up awake with aching bones cause of the poor quality of the mattress- 10 cm thick at the edge, about 0cm in the middle. I slept in millions of dorm beds, but this was by far the worst. Even the one out of plastic in NewZealand was better than this dreadful piece of sh***. And what also kept me awake was the staff member-she stormed into and out of the room to throw some bedding (which is smelly btw) on one bed at 1am. You would have to drink A LOT to make this bed feel comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molmo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I found the HI to be very clean, professional, friendly, safe, and sane. I came running with terror from the other hostel in town and was so relieved to be comfortable and safe here! The staff is extremely helpful and everyone respects the quite hour but there is definitely a fun atmosphere. This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Kali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent some weeks here, all in all - this really was the best place we could wish for as a base to explore Halifax. It's donwtown, it's clean, the kitchen is spacious, there's events and you get to meet a lot of new people, the staff is super friendly, super helpful and quiky in the best possible way - thanks to Timo and the team for making our stay great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed in two different private doubles in this hostel, along with a dorm. Heritage House is a fairly standard hostel, with all the facilities you will need - kitchen, washrooms, laundry etc. I would recommend it to anyone passing through Halifax on a budget! There were all kinds of travellers staying at the Hostel during my visit (young, old, families, couples, lone travellers) which I really liked! You are sure to meet some interesting characters at this HI... The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and the location excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews