We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$308
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$206
$170
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Garden South Park Inn(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
$209
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$231
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
$231
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
33
34
14
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
34
14
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasbig kitchengreat locationsingle roomwithin walking distancevia stationstayed here for a weekfarmers marketbarrington stfour nightsrooms are spaciouseasy accessdormsupermarketwaterfrontlinenslock
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 97 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed in the hostel for 4 nights. The location was great as it was close to the water and a grocery store. The common spaces were clean. The 4-bed dorm that I was in faced the street, which was loud, so I would highly suggest ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. But, overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank LaurenD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at HI Halifax for 4 nights, we have a wonderful stay. Helpful and cheerful staff; clean rooms and washrooms. Can't ask for more (budget range). Very close to waterfront, airport shuttle, superstore.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Clean
Save
Friendly staff

Everything the other hostel in town is not!

Pay the few extra $$ and enjoy your stay in Halifax.

We stayed at both hostels so we know first hand which is the best.

Thanks for a great stay HI.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed 3 nights here and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, though a little stuffy, likely from the door being closed all the time. Though I didn't use it much, the kitchen was big and well equipped for cooking. I booked online and had no trouble getting my room on arrival. If you are looking for female only washrooms, they are available in the basement. Showers small but clean. Linens well used, but again, clean. Half lockers are available in the dorm rooms, you must bring your own lock.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A heritage house (hence the name) in downtown Halifax. Walking distance to everything, safe location. The hostel is clean and safe, the staff helpful and friendly. Good sized kitchen and dining area plus a reading room separate from TV room. Backyard space as well. Busy but not distractingly so. Call ahead to book.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews