We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best dim sum”
Review of Canton Garden

Canton Garden
Ranked #108 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best dim sum”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We go here often for dim sum. The selection is great, the service friendly and fast. The spicy tofu is so good, we always get extra to take home. Get there early for Sunday dim sum, as it fills up fast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebrations with Young Children”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

June is the month of birthdays around here and it's always a challenge to find a "kid friendly" restaurant when the adults want to go out to celebrate a birthday. Make that when they want to eat something other than standard American chain restaurants. Canton Garden is a wonderful hidden jewel in Clayton Park, a suburb of Halifax NS. The food is wonderful from won ton soup with a heavenly broth, BBQ pork slices, bok choy and, super dumplings to the standard dishes and not so standard, like shrimp stuffed eggplant.. We are now 11 with grandparents, kids, and grandkids, so it's usually a challenge to accommodate us, but at Canton Garden we can easily fit around a large round table with a lazy Susan top for all the great dishes. The staff is super attentive and accommodating (they will adjust the dishes to reflect how mild or spicy you'd like your Hot & Sour Soup and dishes like General Tao Chicken). The kids (now 3,5 & 7) love the food, not to mention the two giant fish in a large aquarium.

With or without kids, it's one of the best Chinese Restaurants in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I love the dim sum here. It compares favorably to some of my favorite spots in Vancouver and Toronto. I can't understand why that restaurant downtown keeps winning the "Best in Halifax" award because it simply doesn't compare to Canton Gardens.

I've been visiting regularly since 2010, and I've never had a bad experience here! The service is fast and friendly. It's clean and cheery and authentic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RailGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We go here often”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We love chinese food and go out for it at least once a month, and often twice. Canton Garden is our regular spot to go to, and the waitresses all know us and what we like to order. Yes, we go there often. But we do so because the food is really good. Never disappointed by the quality and the taste. You can order the degree of spicyness you prefer. The decor is basic but fine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Happy Find”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I came across this restaurant purely by accident, and decided to give it a try. We were very happy we did. The restaurant is nice and roomy, very clean and bright, and the staff are very friendly and attentive. I have to say, they have the best egg rolls I have ever tasted! We ordered combo plates of food, and they were delicious and hot, with good sized portions as well as reasonably priced. The sweet and sour chicken balls were very full of meat, and not smothered in a lot of batter, and the honey garlic ribs were tender and plentiful. We have been back many times, and have never had a bad meal. Would recommend this restaurant for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_lotta_colada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canton Garden also viewed

 

Been to Canton Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing