We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ride with a view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastwind Cycle

Eastwind Cycle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eastwind Cycle offers great bike trips to all parts of the Maritimes. Best of all we can design a custom trip to fit exactly what you and group wants. We welcome groups as small as four to twenty or more from half day excursions to full weeks around the best of biking areas. Experts in bike touring since 1995 we know Atlantic Canada.
NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ride with a view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked our ride with the owner Peter. He was VERY flexible for the time to start and the length we wanted to ride.He met 6 of us right on the pier as we got off our cruise ship. He drove us 45 minutes to St. Margaret's Bay were he fit us with helmets and bikes to our sizes. He explained were to ride and that he would ride ahead a short way in his van to point out areas that were great to stop and look at. He was always visible and if we needed him we were to signal him. We biked along the Bay over gentle sloping hills, stopping a few times. We made one stop at the Swiss Air flight #111 crash site memeorial. We had asked him to stop for food at a Fish place which he did. ( The Deck, which had the BEST seafood chowder and wonderful fish and chips ). We ate outside at tables with the view of the Bay in our site.We ran out of time so Peter returned us to the pier so we could board our cruise. We really enjoyed this trip and Peter was very helpful and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BSTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Biking around Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a way to see the back roads of Nova Scotia. From the inns booked, the food eaten, to the roads biked. Extremely fun way for the family to travel. As many or as few km as desired while experiencing the quiet and scenic roads around the coast. Wonderful family trip thanks to Peter and his great plans. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Biking arond Halifax...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been on several bike trips in other parts of the world (Back Roads, Butterfield & Robinson) and was familar with high end operators. We were on a cruise and did a 1 day bike trip arond Halifax with Eastwind Cycle. Eastwind has great bikes (totally top of the line) and the biking in Nova Scotia was superb. It is the perfect place to see the world from a bike - and then find an amazing small local spot for lunch. Peter was a terrific 'toug guide' as well as he shared his knowledge and love of the area - so we were able to learn about the local sights and people as well as have a terriric ride. A+!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great get away from a cruise ship!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the very first contact with Peter from Eastwind cycle, I had a good response and understanding of a group of friends travelling on board a cruise ship and visiting Halifax for one day. Peter could arrange a perfect and unique bicycle tour . He and his son were waiting for us at the pier to start a tour of the city followed by the one on bike We pleasantly enjoyed the beautiful coast scenery in a road with no traffic ,ending with delicious fresh lobster sandwiches and returning on time for our ship departure . Great day, great organization and very friendlyguides!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maria cristina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took the Coastal Bicycle Adventure as a side trip while on a New England cruise. It was absolutely perfect. We saw scenery that we couldn't possibly have seen otherwise and really, from start to finish, everything was perfect. I highly recommend this tour. If you are on a cruise and this tour is indicated as "strenuous", don't let that deter you. If you can ride a bike, you can handle this tour. You can go at your own pace, stopping to rest or take pictures if you want. Bottom line, it was breathtaking. This is a MUST DO!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shipgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastwind Cycle also viewed

 

Been to Eastwind Cycle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing