We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant - Sushi & Hibachi
Ranked #298 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Definitely the best sushi I've ever had. Very fresh and a must for any visit to Halifax. Also, great prices, great location, and the coolest atmosphere. It's kind of in a cave or something.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kira_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Solid sushi lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Three rolls for $12 is just fine as a lunch special, and the dynamite roll was actually excellent: the tempura shrimp were actually fresh-fried, with real texture and flavour in the shrimp. I wish that "spicy tuna roll" did not require little bits of tempura bit (for which read, "fried stuff that costs nothing but takes up space and fills you up") in the roll, and the salad dressing was, um, weird. But it was a good lunch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Yet another good sushi place in Halifax. Lots of sushi variations.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remarkable atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I brought my mother to this restaurant for mother's day. It was her first sushi experience.

We both LOVED the atmosphere of this old celar turned romantic restaurants. Almost all of the tables are settled in their own little alcoves which would make for a very romantic experience with the right person.

They do take reservations which is great. It is across from Pizza Corner which I'm told residents will recognize. Parking (pay) was easy to find and it was just a short walk over to the Metro (Chris De Burgh concert was GREAT!)

I have to say that this is one of the better sushi establishements I've been to. The service is slow but not unusually so for a sushi restaurant.

I absolutly cannot wait to go back again.

I had the Eel special that was very flavorful. The pieces were cut a little small for eating with chopsticks which would be my only complaint. My mother ordered the Beef Tataki which was the hit of the nigth. WOW! I'd go back just for that dish.

We also ordered the 2010 Roll and the Sushi & Sashimi combo for one. The Sashimi were very well portioned and very fresh. The sushi nigiri was nice with the rice cooked to perfection.

Do yourself a favor and go here soon!

The final cost was around 120$ with a tip and a bottle of wine so average enough in my sushi experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SashaGirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An intimate, unique and well priced Sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Fujiyama sushi is perhaps one of Halifax best kept secrets. Its location near central pizza corner in the heart of Halifax is quite convenient, yet unique as it is found in an old cellar which captures the essence of the city.

Fujiyama offers a wide range of Japanese meals and their combos are abundant and affordable.

Friendly staff, and good (although slow at times) service complements this great location for any Sushi enthusiast.

Give Fujiyama a try, I am sure you wont be dissapointed.

BTW, If you can, call in to reserve since the place is not too too big and it is popular with the locals.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Creatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant - Sushi & Hibachi also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant - Sushi & Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing