We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to deliver” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smitty's

Smitty's
Ranked #303 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South End
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to deliver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were regulars 20 years ago with a young family and have returned from overseas and nothing has changed, which is a good thing. We popped in after a long morning walk and it was just what the doctor ordered, it hit the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sick after eating here...terrible meals.Stay Away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went last night and got the skillet breakfast. It was cold, tasteless and not fresh at all I did eat it because we were in a hurry and the place was packed. We did have reservations but they weren't ready for us when we arrived. I am so SICK today, as I knew I would be as within an hour after eating this I was feeling the pains.
My friend had the fish and chips and she is still looking for the "fish". It was a fried piece of batter.
If we weren't with a crowd and in a hurry we would have been sending both meals back.
We often eat here but never again. I think Smittys best pull up their socks.Used to be a trusted good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

After - or before - a walk through Public Gardens you should definitely pay a visit to Smitty's. Directly across from the Gardens, and cross-corner from The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, Smitty's is in the heart of Halifax.
Although breakfast is Smitty's bread-and-butter, and you can get it all day long, the menu covers the full range of meals.
We had breakfast, which included eggs, toast, sausages, and fresh-cut home fries. The eggs were exactly as ordered, and they even offered gluten-free toast (which I am told was excellent).
Friendly service spanned the meal. Nicely done!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DandH_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
956 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, pleasant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant is close to the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street, opposite the public gardens.
We went for breakfast after an early morning appointment in town. The service was fast and efficient.
We had the "wake up your day" breakfast which includes coffee for $10.99. The food was cooked perfectly - not greasy. Excellent spot for breakfast downtown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great senior's breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Several of us enjoyed breakfast on Sunday morning. All meals were hot and tasty. Service was fast and coffee good. A bit pricey for the serving size, plus beverage is not included.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Smitty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing