We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned !”
Review of Smitty's

Smitty's
Ranked #294 of 734 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Canadian
Neighborhood: South End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South End
Sarnia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“We returned !”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found this reataurant when we were looking for a breakfast place. We liked it so much that we returned for supper and breakfast next morning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaunty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Not a good visit”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's nice to have places like Smitty's around. A place where you know what you're going to get and generally always good. My last visit was surprisingly not a good one. The service was very slow and the server had no personality, like he was a robot. It was the first time my favorite, eggs benedict, was not done properly. I will be back but if my next visit is like the last, it will be my last.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“O.k food, expensive for what it is, no ambiance”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is not somewhere I would recommend at all. We paid $30 before tip for 2 breakfasts which were at best ok. The decor leaves a lot to be desired. My eggs were overcooked, which the waitress had remade.

The service was fantastic, but it is way overpriced for what it is... I would not go back and would advise people to definatly try something else, especially with the large range of breakfast places in Halifax.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfastr”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Close to Lord Nelson Hotel and City Gardens. Service was fast and efficient. The menu was particularly good for breakfast and lunch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LloydG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Great Bran Muffins”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This restaurant is accross from the Lord Nelson hotel and serves really good breakfasts. Have eaten at the one in Kingston, Ontario as well and both were really good. Wife and I had the denver omlette, she had the potatos(excellent) and wheat toast(really good) and I chose the bran muffin which was served warm with butter. It was wonderful

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Smitty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing