We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamachi Kita

Hamachi Kita
Ranked #349 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wellesley, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hamachi Kita serves the best teriyaki ever. It is subtle, not too sweet, and not too salty. There is just enough heat to the grilled vegetables that come on the side. If I lived in Halifax, I would probably eat there once a week. The service is prompt and friendly, and you can watch your sushi be prepared at the bar. Try both the crispy and garden spring rolls...both are equally good.
The restaurant is in a very historic part of the city and has great atmosphere.
A definite must if you enjoy sushi, japanese or thai food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank h20andsunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Asian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is my favourite location of this chain. It's on Young Street in the Hydrostone Area and it is such a lovely location. Really nice but very casual. The maki rolls are my favourite but I also enjoyed the pad thai...it was on the spicy side, so only order if you like heat. My only complaint would be that the tea pots for green tea (while I love that I get the whole pot rather than a cup), the pot does leak when you pour and they were quick to bring any napkins.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisablue154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

All I can say is "What the H&!! happened to this place". While the food is still pretty good, the service is horrible. They spent more time complaining about how bad the management is rather than looking after their customers. The tables were slimy as if they were wiped down with a greasy rag, the floors were dirty as was the washroom. When the food was finally delivered it was like someone slapped it on the plate. Not sure what else to say except this used to be our fav Sushi restaurant. No longer and we are off in search of something with a little better attitude towards their customers. Yeesch....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TONYfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love the atmosphere...in one of Halifax's beautiful historical buildings on Young Street, in all it's originally restoered glory. The menu is packed with a fusion of sushi and thai. The sushi chefs are visible while crafting their art on a raised glass encased stage, surrounded by a sushi bar for up close observation. The wait staff is fast and knowledgable and considering the large variety of offerings on the menu, I am always impressed.

The quality of the food is top shelf. I especially love the vegetarian dishes, with the option of brown rice.

My family has grown but this is the one place we meet often for family birthdays. Remember to reserve becasue this place is smoki busy in the evenings....I have never had lunch there. And they seem to do a huge pick up business. You might ask for a tabel at the back so you are out of the take out traffic....as I said, it does get busy and the door opens a lot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CubaJunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Decided one evening to try Hamachi Kita as I have heard great things about it. I am not one to try new sushi places once I've already found a great place, so this was an adventure! (I've been to many average sushi places and it's very disappointing to get bad/bland sushi!) The place is pretty small and seems to always be busy. As a group of 3 we had to wait about 10-15 minutes for a table, however they do take reservations which we had not made. The menu is very easy to read, the drink menu has a lot of choices. When our sushi arrived it was beautiful, a lot of colour and smelled so fresh. The taste was fantastic, and the service excellent. I must say this sushi has moved into my #1 spot. Prices pretty average for good sushi.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank xBellaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamachi Kita also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Hamachi Kita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing