We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good beer but poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrison Beer Store

Garrison Beer Store
Ranked #43 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good beer but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were there twice and both times the attendant was rude. sorry you don't like your job but it's not our fault. The beer was excellant but the atmosphere was rude

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank exavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    68
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable tasting room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We ended up at Garrison's about an hour before they closed on a Monday night. We were the only people there and the bartender gave us great service and did not rush us one bit. The tasting room and beer store area is relatively small, our party of six took over the one seating area. It was perfectly comfortable for our group with the couches and chairs but it would have been difficult sitting inside if it was more crowded. There were some additional bar stools and outdoor seating. The tasting glasses were $2 each and were at least 4 ounces. It was a good price and a nice way to try a variety of beers. Garrison is on tap throughout Nova Scotia so it was nice knowing what I wanted to order when it was available. It was a lovely place to spend an hour relaxing before dinner. It is located right behind the Westin and close the to the cruise ship terminal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 90thandKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“good location - close to cruise ships and trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

From our cruise ship, they're located right at the cruise dockside. A good size plant with a small bar and store area (no food, few seats). No free-tastings, but a good glass for the price (5oz @ $2). The server is extremely knowledgeable about brewing in general and his beers in particular. Good with a sudden crowd.

Their assortment is diverse and there are plenty of different beers available to try. I thought they were good enough that I brought a couple back to the ship to bring home and I'd be sure to stop in again when in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
955 reviews
633 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Small, pleasant, beer tasting bar near cruise terminal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I can across this beer bar less than a block from the cruise terminal in Halifax. They offer small (about 1/2 pint) glasses of Garrison Beer for very reasonable prices (as I recall, $2.00 Canadian.) The inside seating area is rather small, but there is ample outdoor seating.

The two beers I sampled were average to good. It was a pleasant way to wind down and have a few good local beers before heading back to the ship.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrison Beer Store also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Garrison Beer Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing