We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing At Best”
Review of Rogues Roost - CLOSED

Rogues Roost
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing At Best”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped in here with friends after dinner. It was busy, but not overly so. We were greeted promptly by the server but the good service ended there.
We were in for just a beer and upon informing him of this, the service he gave us reflected it. They only had three varieties available, which for a place that brews it's own beer is not at all impressive, and to be honest the beer was horrible. I ordered the red and could only drink half of my pint, it was just terrible. Flavour was off and it was in no way enjoyable. I didn't have an opportunity to tell the server, however, because he did not come back to the table even once after dropping off our beers. Our drive was waiting outside and we tried, in vain, for 5 minutes or more to try to get his attention so we could have our bills - it was honestly like we had ceased to exist.
Finally we made our way to the bar and asked for the bills - he acted almost annoyed that we were bothering him.
Needless to say I won't be returning, there's far better atmosphere, far superior beer, and much more capable service in many other locations in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ummm, Beer”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After walking all over beautiful Halifax, we stopped in this pub for a bite and discovered a world of amazingly tasting micro brews. We ordered two different types and when we asked about the flavors of the others were delighted to receive small samples....all delicious and singular tastes. The staff was so very friendly, food was tasty, and prices reasonable. Wish we lived in this great port city and could visit Rogue's Roost on a regular basis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homemade brew”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped in this pub after discovering the Booster Juice was closed on a scorching hot humid day in July. Go figure. We opted then for a brew at the Rogue and salads. The salads were fresh large portions and great. Prices are good too. Daily specials as well. Staff serving us were friendly and informative for our travels, good place to stop if your looking for a good beer
or gluten free cider!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodach-sneachda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub in Halifax”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Creative decorating, friendly and attentive staff. Excellent assortment of refreshments and ideal spot for a quick break from the business of the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Delicious variety of beers brewed on premises - we tried the raspberry (and brought some home) and also the porter. The artichoke dip was toasty warm and yummy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogues Roost also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing