We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro le Coq

Bistro le Coq
Ranked #51 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were four last night at this great restaurant. WOW! Service was great but the food was amazing. It truly is a French bistro from the décor to the wine and food! We were all impressed by the great food - appetizers, main course and the desserts....the chocolate grand marnier soufflé is to die for!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Halifax75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    68
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

If this is 14 on tripadvisor then Halifax must be the dining capital of the world. Great pork and sea bass dinner with all other parts of the meal of excellent quality. So nice to experience what pleasure a chef can create. Lovely interior, friendly service, and exquisite food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Really enjoyed this bistro. Service was great and the food was the best.

I would highly recommend this gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJBasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate at this restaurant before going to the Neptune theatre production Mary Poppins, so we informed the server of our intent. She couldn't have been more helpful in providing excellent service, not rushed, but timed well.

We commenced with a bottle of Timberlane Merlot, which set us up for the meal beautifully. We ordered appetisers and we each chose escargots bourguinon and the two dishes of six snails came in the shells, sizzling with hot garlic butter and toast to mop up the butter. I had to ask for more toast, as there was so much butter that was too good to waste. Although it was toast, the server came back with it very quickly, so the butter was still warm. The snails were just done to perfection and it was an excellent appetiser.

Next, my wife ordered the steak tartare and I the sea bass, we deciding we would like to share each of them. The steak tartare came on a bed of fresh vegetables and was topped with a soft poached egg with toast on the side. The real steak tartare is often difficult to get these days owing to fear of contaminated uncooked meat. That was partly why we chose it: it is hard to find in restaurants. But it was delicious with just a touch of hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce.

The sea bass I ordered came on a bed of potatoes mousseline, fresh vegetables and topped with a duguiere sauce, primarily a herbed white sauce. Fish, to me, has to be only just cooked and this was. We both declared it to be very tasty.

At the very outset of our meal, the server asked if we would like to try a small portion of a new item to be introduced, but neither of us can recall exactly what it was for which we were charged $2.All we can recall is that we liked it. Poor reviewer!

We did not order dessert and were very well satisfied with the meal. The ambiance is what it is supposed to be, a French bistro, delightfully so, with white plates and cups bearing a solitary small coloured cockerel.Very pretty.

We highly recommend this restaurant and we certainly will be returning there soon.

Cost: Sample - $2; escargots - 2 x $9 = $18; Steak Tartare - $13; Sea Bass - $24; Bottle Merlot - $38. Total - $95 + tax $14.25 = $109.25. We gave $18 gratuity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
619 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great French inspired meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Classic French dining experience. Service was brisk and pleasant. The food was excellent and the atmosphere matched the food quality. Would definitely eat here again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro le Coq also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Bistro le Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing