We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

For my two traveling partners and myself, our 2 queen size bedroom was just the perfect fit and comfort during our 3 night stay. We were seeing sights and doing day trips based out of Halifax, so didn't need many services that large urban hotels offer that this hotel doesn't (free breakfast, larger lobby, etc...) Based on previous reviews, we asked for a courtyard side room (noise factor from street perhaps) and the staff who checked us in said you don't want the second floor as it can get noisy too, thus we had a quite room and didn't hear a peep. The beds were great and the bathroom layout was one of the best we've seen. The location is good as it was position within easy walking distance to the boardwalk and places we wished to see either direction on the bay. We dined at several restaurants within walking distance that were very good and ate breakfast at Cabin Coffee right across the street (highly recommend this place for breakfast special and pastries to go) Business Center was accommodating and the underground parking was fine, even though it came to $25 a day. We figured we would pay that much elsewhere to park - and this is true based on what we have heard from others. Overall - we were very pleased with our stay and would return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard side room when checking in, although we didn't see that much traffic on Holl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    337
    151
    53
    28
See reviews for
177
272
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Quinte, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed at the Four Points in Halifax and it was what you would expect from a mid range hotel. Clean, friendly staff, modestly furnished. The location is fantastic. I would recommend taking the city transit bus from the airport to the conference center and walking to the hotel. It was only $3.50 and a short seven minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakeside100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
145 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our group of eight traveling through the Canadian Maritimes stayed here for two nights, 8/9-11. We walked here from the train station and were greeted by Jim at the front desk. Jim very kindly suggested that we wait for the quiet rooms on the fourth floor to be cleaned rather than take the noisier second floor rooms that were ready. He checked our bags and gave us a great suggestion for dinner on the waterfront and when we returned, our rooms were clean and ready for a good night's sleep. The Halifax waterfront is just a block away with excellent restaurants and shops and the Maritime museum. Easy walking! The front desk staff in particular was helpful throughout our stay and also stamped and mailed postcards for us.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors tend to get less street noise and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at the Four Points-Halifax for the first time and was subjected to a noisy, disruptive night. Several drunken chowder-heads burst into the adjacent room at 12:30 AM making so much noise that we called the front desk. The staff said they'd look into it, and possibly move the group to another room as the buddies left for more bar hopping but were clearly planning to return. So, when they did come back at 4:00 AM, louder than ever, we waited a bit but were forced to call the desk again. They said they'd send someone to quiet things down, but buy then we were completely awake and none too pleased. Among other things, the drunks attempted to gain access to our room though side door - were fortunately locked it when checking in (everyone should do check this).

Went down to the front desk at 8:00 to speak to the "day manager" and she essentially said: too bad/so sad, "we can't control the behavior of our guests." Well, true all hotels experience noisy and inconsiderate guests BUT the point being here hotel staff were given a heads up at 12:30 and choose to do nothing! The really insincere "apology" the next morning made it clear this establishment just doesn't care whether you get a good night sleep or not. Bad attitude all round. Met up with another family with small kids from that floor and they had been kept awake as well.

Bottom Line: there are plenty of other hotels in this city, and more coming on stream soon, so save yourself the grief and give Four Points - Halifax a pass.

Room Tip: Try another hotel - very poor experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 117PSM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night at the Four Points in Halifax and it was alright. The price was not awful but it was kind of a mess. Upon checking in, there was issues with my room being marked as not clean and they were dealing with a loud group of parties in one of the rooms, so it took quite some time. Staff was somewhat unpleasant. I asked a few questions as I had never been to Halifax, and the gentleman I spoke to seemed rather cold. The room was cozy, beds were comfy, and the bathroom was nice. The next afternoon, I realized I forgot an item in the room and I called 4 times before anyone was actually willing/able to help me find out if it was there or not. Its in a nice location though. Not sure of I would stay again but it was alright for a quick overnight trip.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern, clean and in a perfect location. Nothing too special about it, but it is a nice place to stay! Breakfast is not included. The rooms are modern and clean. You're minutes away from the waterfront, restaurants and some shopping. Perfect location in the middle of downtown!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaurTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Lauren T,

It was great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, I have shared your comments with our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubenacadie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and it's close to everything on the waterfront. They do have a parking garage for a fee, we parked on the street because it's free on weekends. Only complaint was that our room wasn't ready for us when we checked in at 4:30pm. Apparently they were low staffed that day. Told us to give them an hour and the room would be ready and it was.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax located in the heart of Halifax, within a short walk from the famous Halifax boardwalk, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, Halifax's farmers market, citadel hill and more. With over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space, we can accommodate a group of up to 200 guests indoors and 480 guests in our courtyard. Host your next Halifax event or meeting with us and we'll take care of all the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing