We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a trusted stand-by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“More than a trusted stand-by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

More than a trusted stand-by

Since 2001, I have been staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, at least once annually. In July 2014, I returned to the renovated hotel. The previous club lounge has not re-opened. Check-in was friendly and efficient. I found my room well-lit, large, clean and comfortable. Except for a shower cap, my bathroom contained a good assortment of toiletries. Hot water is virtually instantly available. My bed was comfortable, containing more pillows than I was able to rest on at a time. I found a mini-refrigerator; coffee maker; bottled water; a soft bathrobe and wire-line and wire-less high-speed internet access. On my floor, I found a shoe-polishing machine (very helpful!). Although Hollis Street has day-traffic, the windows are well-insulated, allowing a restful sleep. He hotel has no restaurant of its own, but the casual Niche Restaurant and Supper Club is located on the second floor of the hotel complex. The fitness centre is open 24 h and the indoor pool from 05:30 to 23:00 h.
He hotel staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The Airport Shuttle (roundtrip $40..00) serves the hotel. The centrally-located hotel is not far from Citadel Hill, allowing a panoramic view of Halifax and Dartmouth across the harbour. There is shopping on Hollis and Barrington Streets, Spring Garden Road and Lower Water Street. The Farmers Market is nearby, so is Alexander Keith’s Brewery has tours). A short walk takes one to the Seaport and Via Rail station. Restaurants are within walking distance. The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on Hollis Street is worthwhile and has an excellent restaurant.

My check-out was, as usually, friendly and efficient. I am looking forward to my return.

Room Tip: Look for an odd-numbered room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonifacius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    309
    145
    45
    23
See reviews for
154
254
50
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel got a great location right in downtown Halifax, close to the bars/restaurants and the harbour...room is big, king bed is comfy and we got all we need at the room =) Def was a good deal considering the location and the nice room we got...
The view was okay...partial view to the ocean.

Parking lot is small and prepare yourself to add extra 20$ (plus tax) to park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Dizzy951

It was great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, I have shared your comments with our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hotel is on Hollis, only blocks away from the harbour (Lower Deck, shopping, other restaurants, etc). In the other direction you'll find more restaurants to choose from, the Citadel and the Metro Centre. A Budget rental place is one block away as well making the whole city and surrounding sites very accessible. Breakfast was available in the convention centre but I'd skip that and go to Cabin Coffee across the street. The rooms were clean and the pool, although small, was also clean.

Room Tip: Our room faced Hollis and it was a bit loud (being Canada Day long weekend)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Gabriele C,

It was great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, I have shared your comments with our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for a night. Great location as it is in walking distance from everything in downtown Halifax. Also very clean comfortable room. Paid parking underground for only $20 a day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneychick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi SydneyChick2

It was great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
294 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Four Points by Sheraton is in a good location. It's a block from the boardwalk but once you're on the boardwalk, it's a 10-minute walk to Pier 21 or a short walk in the other directions to some good restaurants and the Maritime Museum, not to mention the harbour cruises. The hotel was quiet and very clean. We were on the 4th floor with a room over-looking the courtyard. With all of the construction happening in the immediate area, I think that the courtyard was better than over-looking the street. The staff was very friendly and while you pay $20/day for parking, it's a secure underground garage and there are in-and-out privileges. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Our courtyard view was nice to look at and proved to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Lisa C,

It was great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, I have shared your comments with our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Four Point Sheraton Halifax is central to downtown Halifax, and within walking distance to Spring Garden Shopping district, many restaurants in neighbouring dowmtown areas such as Argyle Road, the lively waterfront, and various museums. The neighboring buildings seem slightly dated and shabby, as well as the front walls of the hotel. However, the interior is clearly recently renovated. The rooms are clean and modern, ressembling other Four Point Sheratons that we've visited. The complimentary morning coffee and tea in the lobby are an added convenience.

Room Tip: Certain rooms face the inner courtyard which has an interesting view of painted murals depicting his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_26C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, rooms are clean and roomy. Beds are comfy. Located a short walk to the waterfront, Museums and restaurants. Check out was super quick and simple with the receipt being emailed right then. Restaurant on site had 'ok' service but the breakfast menu was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuggirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi travelbuggirlie

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed our Four Comfort Beds!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax is near the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, offers over 12,000 sq ft of event space, and offers award winning catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing