We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, rooms are clean and roomy. Beds are comfy. Located a short walk to the waterfront, Museums and restaurants. Check out was super quick and simple with the receipt being emailed right then. Restaurant on site had 'ok' service but the breakfast menu was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelbuggirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi travelbuggirlie

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed our Four Comfort Beds!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 916 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

You get what you would expect at this hotel. The room was clean and the decor was updated. The best feature of this hotel is its location. We parked in the hotel car park ($20) and walked every where. This hotel is very close to the harbour, Pier 21, the Citadel, and great restaurants. We pre booked in advance and it definitely saved us a lot of money. We unexpectedly returned to Halifax and thought about staying here again, however the rates were almost $100 more so we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn downtown Halifax. The Hampton Inn is brand new, in a great location, and includes breakfast. This might be another hotel worth looking at for your stay in downtown Halifax.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi LLamps,

It was wonderful to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in our staff and our property.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just got back from our vacation in Halifax and ended up staying at Four Points in Halifax for about 5 of our 8 days away. Overall the hotel location and accommodations are very good. We found that this location. was close to so many things that we left the car in the Hotel Parking garage (20 bucks/day) and walked...everywhere. Close to the Citadel, Boardwalk (waterfront), restaurants, museums, boat tours and the list goes on. Rooms were comfortable as were the beds. Newer modern decor and a fresh bright bathroom. We actually stayed in three different rooms due to our traveling schedule to Cape Breton. We found the bathrooms to smell a little like mildew, but they were polished clean so perhaps the drains just needed a good cleaning. My only recommendation if you are traveling with kids or want to at least get a good sleep is to avoid their lower level room numbers ending in 001 ( so 2001, 3001, 4001 etc). While it may not happen on the day of your visit, we were kept awake until just after 2am by the club/lounge next door that cranked the music up. Better to just avoid these rooms or those in close proximity. We had to request a room move due to this racket, which they obliged. This location has a small fitness area, a micro jacuzzi and small pool in the basement.

Be sure to go next door to Cabin Coffee for the coffee, desserts and bagel breakfast. Yum.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Gerry H,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest on all three occasions during your stay in Nova Scotia. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in a king suite with 4 people for two nights. There is no ensuite in the bedroom and there is only 1 mirror which is located in the bathroom. Even though we registered as 4 people in the room, there were only enough towels for 2 people. When the room was cleaned, houskeeping staff still only provided enough clean towels for 2 people. There was no bedding in the suite for the sofa bed and had to ask 4 times until we received on the bedding required for the sofa bed. Floors were not swept when houskeeping came in to clean. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just stayed for 4 nights at Four Points. We found the room was excellent. They were clean and the bathroom extremely clean. Our view was to an inner courtyard and the walls had painted buildings so it looked like you were in a small town. We thought it was an excellent idea. One good thing, I feel was that everyday they gave you free bottled water. The restaurant did not belong to the Sheraton and the food was ok, but service not the best on the Saturday. They fill your juice with ice and the coffee lacked strength. I ordered waffles with strawberries and when it arrived, no strawberries. Reason, ran out when I asked. The never offered some other fruit.
They do offer taxi service to the airport (flat rate) and the fellow we had, who worked for the hotel was very good and the cab was clean.
You are centrally located to everything downtown with walking distance.
We would go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. Not too noisy. Room was a good size. 2 double beds and a small bar size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Allen R,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. I have communicated your concerns with the restaurant to the Manager so this can be used for a coaching opportunity for their staff.
It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed our property and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The positives - Our room and washroom were spotless. The bed was amazingly comfortable and linens were fantastic. The staff at the desk upon check in were super helpful and were able to accommodate our very early check in. The business centre on the first floor was great and I was able to print some documents for free - very helpful. Wi-Fi was free and easy to access with a simple password (hooray - not an alphabet soup to log in!). Finally, Cabin Coffee located across the street was tasty, friendly and well priced. The location was centralized between the downtown area, the waterfront, shopping, and where we were doing business which meant for a quick walk to all that we needed.

The negatives - Some of the public spaces of the hotel were in need of little attention. The boxwood planters outside of the doors of the hotel were dead and one had a pizza crust in it for two days (half way through our stay the plants were replaced and the pizza was removed). The hallway carpets in the hotel (or at least on our floor) and the elevator and foyer floors were in need of a deep clean. The room service was very disappointing - the food was very, very basic and not a great quality for an exorbitant expense (and I expected a premium cost for room service, but it wasn't worth it) and the dishes sat outside our room for a long time. The parking was also pricey and the lot had very small spaces.

We stayed for 4 nights and overall, the experience was okay. We would consider staying in this hotel again, but mostly because of the very comfy bed.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank SquirrelandBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hi SquirrelandBunny,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay. It was wonderful to read that our staff left a great impression and I have passed your comments on to our team.

We just had some of our high traffic hallway carpets replaced as of today and do want to apologize for the negative effect they may have had on your stay.

We hope you will give us another chance on your return to Halifax so we can take the chance to show you what our property has to offer.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was my first trip to Halifax so I can’t compare to the other local hotels. However I have travelled a fair bit and while the hotel was well located, the rooms were clean and the service was wonderful, I found it lacking in some areas. The room décor was felt dated and need of a reno and for the price we paid (which was on par with other local hotels when I booked) I felt the value just was not there. Also if you have a car, parking is a bit pricey (20$ a day is more than most Toronto Hotels) and the exit is a tight fit so be careful and if you have large car or SUV, I would park elsewhere (there is a cheaper lot across the street). On the upside, the beds were VERY comfortable so if you can get a fair rate and all you want is a place to sleep, then this will likely work for you.

What I liked:
Location
Clean Rooms
Comfortable beds
Hotel Service

What I didn’t like
Felt overpriced
Parking lot was tight and expensive
With the exception of the lobby lounge, hotel decor was tired and dated

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hi William C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We have just completely renovated the hotel in the last year to update our rooms to the new Four Points brand standard, it was disappointing to hear you did not enjoy the new look of the Four Points.
Parking downtown Halifax is very limited so it does come at cost but we are in the same price range of all other downtown properties.

We do hope to have another chance to welcome you to Halifax again soon.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $128 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax located in the heart of Halifax, within a short walk from the famous Halifax boardwalk, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, Halifax's farmers market, citadel hill and more. With over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space, we can accommodate a group of up to 200 guests indoors and 480 guests in our courtyard. Host your next Halifax event or meeting with us and we'll take care of all the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing