We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My last night at the hotel with my 2 children, ages 9 and 11 was horrible! We were awakened constantly through the night with groups of young people shouting in the hall. Then at 3:00 am a guest of the hotel was shouting out that she had just been beat up in a room on the floor below us! Bedlam ensued!!!! I called the front desk, she wasn't that helpful, to ask them if they knew what was going on. She said the police were there and were handling it. Not sure where the police were but they didn't arrive on our floor for another 20 minutes. For 45 minutes, we listened to this girl shout and complain about the cost of the room, and that for the price she should be getting better service! (What about the rest of the guests who we're trying to sleep!) I tried calling guest services again to find out when they were planning on having this mess dealt with..... no answer! At 4:30 am, after I had calmed my children down to get some sleep, the group shouting started again. No sleep for us! It's too bad this happened because the hotel itself is great, but their security and emergency response planning will prevent me from ever staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starrynightdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi Starrynightdrive,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take our guests security very seriously and apologize that you had to experience this disturbance during your stay.
Our staff are very well trained to ensure our guests safety. Our guest services manager Josh would like an opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns from your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact Josh at 902-474-3922.

All the best,

The Four Points Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 916 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed there as I was stuck in Halifax due to weather. Upgraded to junior suite as I am a platinum member. Hotel itself is very plain, but the room I had was nice. Typical Four Points amenities.
Agreed with some of the reviews, getting to the restaurant is a bit of a pain, but the happy hour there is very welcoming.
I would suggest they upgrade the fitness centre, the 'universal' gym is very dated and doesn't provide much.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel had excellent, helpful staff, but - it was like threading the labyrinth to find the associated restaurant, and to get there was entirely unattractive. Again, its lobby was minimal and not a place to sit down in and relax. The stripes on the carpet at the exit to the second floor lift made me feel I was about to go downhill and was not on level ground, and finally, the bathroom contained shampoo & hair conditioner dispensers which would not have been out of place in a public restroom. The wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdonald3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Mrdonald3009,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was disappointing to read that our property did not meet your needs.

We do have a great team here and it was nice to see that they left a great impression on your stay. We do hope you will consider us for your next stay in Halifax. Please reach out to our reservations manager Ryan so we can personally select a room for your stay and handle and any details regarding your needs.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Spent a weekend here with some girlfriends in August. Loved every second of it! My second time staying at this hotel, and much like the first time, the service was incredible, the rooms were spotless, and the beds were phenomenal! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Room was not clean!! I know this because upon opening my mini fridge I found another guest's old food...and also, when I went to brew coffee in the room, the travel cups set out were also used - set up like no one had touched them, but once I removed the lid from the cup to pour my coffee I noticed the cut had already been used and still had a little old coffee in it! SO GROSS!! It is obvious the standard of "housekeeping" is very low here. Also very disruptive and unsightly construction going on all around the hotel. I asked for a harbor view room after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, but when I got there I was told by front desk staff that the only harbor view rooms they have are the suites, and I didn't book a suite so I couldn't get anything but a city view. What a joke! All in all it is a run down property with low standards, and not worth the earned SPG points to ever stay there again! The Marriott across the street is much nicer. Will choose them next time I stay downtown, or Inn on the Lake closer to the airport! Don't waste your money!

Room Tip: ask for floor with no construction! And also, if you want a harbor view, you have to book a suite :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Ashley B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. First I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay and want to assure you this is not to our standards or Starwood's standard. I have shared your comments with all of our management team to ensure this is not experienced by another guest at the Four Points Halifax.
If you would like to reach out to us to discuss your stay in further detail, please contact Josh, Guest Services Manager.

Again we are truly sorry for this experience and hope you may reconsider a future stay with us.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Helpful desk staff, clean & large rooms, great location: close to the water, great food & pubs, 4 blocks walking distance from the VIA station. This is a great place for both families and a working visit to Halifax. Not as fancy as the Weston (at VIA), but just as convenient. The mini food court on 2nd floor is a bonus for anyone who has to get in & out quickly. I would have rated higher, but did not use restuarant or exersize area.

Room Tip: Very accommodating if you ask for something specific (quiet, view, etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Steve S,
We appreciate our guest’s feedback and use it to better serve our guest’s.
It was great to read your comments on our property and we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us in Halifax. We are just in the final phase of renovations, which started at the beginning of 2014.
We hope to see you back at the Four Points Halifax again in the near future. Safe travels until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel room is decent, and the bed is very comfortable. I asked for a quiet room, and received a room on the 6th (top) floor, facing the courtyard, which was very quiet indeed. The bathtub is huge, just one thing I noticed. My only complaint is the wifi. It is extremely slow, and barely connects. I had to tether the data from my phone instead, couldn't access their wifi very much.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $128 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax located in the heart of Halifax, within a short walk from the famous Halifax boardwalk, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, Halifax's farmers market, citadel hill and more. With over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space, we can accommodate a group of up to 200 guests indoors and 480 guests in our courtyard. Host your next Halifax event or meeting with us and we'll take care of all the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing